卵细胞到胚胎到胎儿:生殖和发育过程

© 2019 Visible Body

阴道

阴道让女性月经流出体外,性交时容纳男性阴茎,并作为分娩时的产道。

iTunesGoogle Play

单击播放从受精到出生的胚胎生长动画

在生殖过程中,男性精子和女性卵子提供了产生另一个人类所需的信息。卵细胞受精时,这些细胞结合,即发生了受孕。受精卵在子宫上着床便开始了妊娠。胚胎成长并被包围在提供支撑和养分的结构中。随着胚胎发育成胎儿,出现了眼睛、四肢和器官。胎儿在子宫内成长,直到妊娠结随分娩和生产而结束。这时,所有身体系统均已准备就绪—包括能产生另一个人类的生殖系统在内。

1. 受精:精子和卵子形成受精卵

单击播放卵细胞受精的动画

在性交过程中,从男性阴茎射出的一些精子通过雌性阴道和子宫向上游向漂浮在一个输卵管中的卵母细胞(卵细胞)。精子和卵子是配子。它们分别包含生殖所需要的一半遗传信息。当精子细胞穿透并使卵子受精后,这种基因信息会结合。精子中的23条染色体与卵子中的23条染色体配对,形成被称作受精卵的46条染色体细胞。受精卵开始分裂和增殖。它在子宫前进的同时会分裂成一个囊胚,其将被埋入子宫壁中。

2. 受精卵形成胚胎:在着床前和着床期间的发育

子宫中的胚胎结构

受精卵(也称合子)需要约五天时间才能从输卵管到达子宫。在受精卵移动时,它会分裂并发育成囊胚,具有内部细胞团和保护性外环。囊胚附着在子宫壁上,并逐渐让自身在子宫内膜上着床。着床过程中,细胞会进一步分化。受精后的第15天,形成胚胎的细胞将发育成胎盘。其他细胞开始构建支持结构。位于胎盘一侧的卵黄囊将成为消化道的一部分。在另一侧的羊膜会充满液体并将在胚胎发育时将其包围。其他细胞群开始胎盘和脐带的产生,它们将被用于输送进营养和排泄废物。

3. 在第八周,胚胎发育;到第10周结束时形成胎儿

单击播放胚胎发育的动画

受孕十五天后标志着胚胎期的开始。胚胎包含一个扁平的胎盘,它现在分成三层:内胚层、中胚层和外胚层。人体的所有器官都分化自这三个组织。它们开始弯曲并折叠,形成一个呈长方形的身体。到第4周时,胚胎具有明显的头部和尾部以及跳动的心脏。在接下来的六周,四肢、眼睛、脑部区域和椎骨形成。所有人体系统初具雏形。到第10周结束时,胚胎成为胎儿。(注意:妊娠通常以孕周(以女性末次月经第一天开始的胎儿年龄)和胚胎或胎龄(正在发育胎儿的实际年龄)来计算。我们在这里指的是胎儿的孕周。)

4. 胎儿发育以生产结束,这是一个分三个阶段的过程

出生过程和生产过程中的周围器官

从怀孕的第10周开始,胎儿在子宫内生长,脐带提供了富含营养成分的血液使胎儿发育。胎盘为胎儿提供氧气和营养成分,并清除胎儿血液中的废物。骨骼、肌肉、皮肤和结缔组织形成。身体系统发育。四肢和五官成形。36周左右(通常情况),产程开始。在第一阶段(扩张),激素刺激子宫壁向下收缩。收缩将胎儿的头部推向子宫最下端的宫颈。宫颈扩张。在第二阶段(娩出),强力的收缩将头和身体的其他部位通过扩张的宫颈向外推,并通过阴道和外阴娩出婴儿。婴儿娩出。进一步的收缩会推出胎盘以完成胎盘娩出期。

5. 人类必须发育出雌雄性腺和生殖器才能繁殖

胎儿的生殖分化

在胚胎期开始形成生殖结构。到第6周时,性腺和生殖器出现,但未分化。它们是雄性还是雌性取决于精子传递的一条染色体。这对染色体包含来自雌性卵的X性染色体和来自雄性精子的X或Y性染色体。如果染色体对是XY,则从第7周开始,性腺发育成睾丸。如果染色体对是XX,则从第8周开始,性腺发育成卵巢。睾丸分泌睾丸酮,在第10周左右形成男性生殖器。若没有睾丸酮,则会形成女性生殖器。所有生殖结构在出生时或出生后不久就已存在。在青春期,性激素的增长将使它们发育到成年大小并具有生殖能力。

External Sources

A description of the embryo at different stages of its growth from the 1918 edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body.

An article in Science Daily on a research study that involves creating a synthetic model of the placenta to better understand pregnancy.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.

Egg to Embryo to Fetus: The Reproduction and Development Process

Click to play an animation of embryonic growth from fertilization to birth
In the reproductive process, a male sperm and a female egg provide the information required to produce another human being. Conception occurs when these cells join as the egg is fertilized. Pregnancy begins once the fertilized egg implants in the uterus. The embryo grows and becomes surrounded by structures that provide support and nourishment. Eyes, limbs, and organs appear as the embryo develops into a fetus. The fetus grows inside the uterus until pregnancy ends with labor and birth. By then all body systems are in place—including the reproductive system that can one day help produce another human being.

1. Fertilization: A Sperm and an Egg Form a Zygote

Click to play an animation of egg cell fertilization
During sexual intercourse, some sperm ejaculated from the male penis swim up through the female vagina and uterus toward an oocyte (egg cell) floating in one of the uterine tubes. The sperm and the egg are gametes. They each contain half the genetic information necessary for reproduction. When a sperm cell penetrates and fertilizes an egg, that genetic information combines. The 23 chromosomes from the sperm pair with 23 chromosomes in the egg, forming a 46-chromosome cell called a zygote. The zygote starts to divide and multiply. As it travels toward the uterus it divides to become a blastocyst, which will burrow into the uterine wall.

2. The Zygote Becomes an Embryo: Development Prior to and During Implantation

Embryonic structures in the wombA fertilized egg, or zygote, takes about five days to reach the uterus from the uterine tube. As it moves, the zygote divides and develops into a blastocyst, with an inner mass of cells and a protective outer ring. The blastocyst attaches to the wall of the uterus and gradually implants itself into the uterine lining. During implantation, its cells differentiate further. At day 15 after conception, the cells that will form the embryo become an embryonic disc. Other cells begin to form support structures. The yolk sac, on one side of the disc, will become part of the digestive tract. On the other side, the amnion fills with fluid and will surround the embryo as it develops. Other cell groups initiate the placenta and umbilical cord, which will bring in nutrients and eliminate waste.

3. In Eight Weeks, the Embryo Develops; By the End of Week 10 It Becomes a Fetus

Click to play an animation of the development of the embryo
Fifteen days after conception marks the beginning of the embryonic period. The embryo contains a flat embryonic disc that now differentiates into three layers: the endoderm, the mesoderm, and the ectoderm. All organs of the human body derive from these three tissues. They begin to curve and fold and to form an oblong body. By week 4, the embryo has a distinct head and tail and a beating heart. Over the next six weeks, limbs, eyes, brain regions, and vertebrae form. Primitive versions of all body systems appear. By the end of week 10, the embryo is a fetus. (Note: Pregnancy is often measured in terms of gestational age—age of the fetus starting with the first day of a woman’s last menstrual period—and embryonic or fetal age—actual age of the growing fetus. We are referring to the gestational age of the fetus.)

4. Fetal Development Ends with Labor, a Three-Stage Process

The process of birth and surrounding organs during laborFrom week 10 of pregnancy, the fetus grows inside the uterus, fueled by nutrient-rich blood supplied by the umbilical cord. The placenta provides oxygen and nutrients to the fetus and removes waste products from the fetus’ blood. Bones, muscles, skin, and connective tissues form. Body systems develop. Limbs and facial features take shape. Around week 36 (usually), the process of labor begins. In the first stage, dilation, hormones stimulate downward contractions of the uterine walls. The contractions push the head of the fetus against the cervix at the lower end of the uterus. The cervix dilates. In the second stage, expulsion, powerful contractions push the head and the rest of the body through the dilated cervix, and out through the vagina and the vulva. The baby is born. Further contractions expel the placenta to complete the placental stage.

5. Humans Must Develop Male or Female Gonads and Genitalia to be Capable of Reproduction

Genital differentiation of the fetusReproductive structures begin to form in the embryonic stage. By week 6, gonads and genitalia are present but undifferentiated. Whether they become male or female is determined by one chromosome delivered by the sperm. This pair contains an X sex chromosome from the female egg and either an X or a Y sex chromosome from the male sperm. If the chromosome pair is XY, the gonads develop into testes starting in week 7. If the chromosome pair is XX, the gonads become ovaries starting in week 8. Testes secrete testosterone, forming male genitalia around week 10. Without testosterone, female genitalia form. All reproductive structures are in place at birth or shortly after. At puberty, an increase in sex hormones will grow them to their adult size and reproductive capability.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A description of the embryo at different stages of its growth from the 1918 edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body.

An article in Science Daily on a research study that involves creating a synthetic model of the placenta to better understand pregnancy.

Anatomy & Physiology, an app for your iPadPC, Mac, Android, Windows Touch Device, includes 3D models, animations, and illustrations about fertilization and fetal development.