蠕动产生了推进: 食物如何移动通过消化道

© 2019 Visible Body

食道

食管是消化管中最狭窄的部分。

iTunesGoogle Play

消化系统概述

消化道是单一的连续管道,包括口腔、咽、食管、胃、小肠和大肠。 当食物被咀嚼成食团并被吞咽后,会厌的作用将食团推入食管。 这里的蠕动波推进食物通过消化道。

1. 会厌将吞下的食物引导到下面的食管中

单击以播放会厌的动画

呼吸系统和消化系统共用口腔后部的结构,其同时与气管(呼吸系统)和食管(消化系统)相连。 是什么阻止吞下食物“走错路”? 每次吞咽时,被称为会厌的结构会在呼吸结构上关闭。 吞下的食团停留在途中,并被导向食管。 一个蠕动波就足以推动食丸顺着食道进入胃。

2. 蠕动是有助于移动和分解食物的肌肉组织收缩

单击查看蠕动的动画描述

消化道的壁包括由自主神经系统控制的平滑肌层。 这些肌肉的交替收缩和松弛称为蠕动。 蠕动波将吞下的食团沿食管向下推动。 在胃中,蠕动搅动吞下的食物,将其与胃液混合。 这些机械和化学作用进一步将食物分解成一种叫做食糜的物质。 将一块食物咀嚼成食团需要大约一分钟,吞下它需要几秒钟。 进入胃以后,食物需要几个小时才能成为食糜。

3. 蠕动波使营养物质和废物移动通过肠道

各种消化过程的时间

对我们吃下食物中的大部分营养物质的吸收都发生在小肠中。 当食糜从胃进入小肠时,蠕动波来回移动并将其与消化酶和液体混合。 来自食糜的营养物质通过肠壁被吸收到血液中。小肠中的蠕动波更小且更规则,将食糜推进3至6小时后才会转入大肠,在大肠中完成最后的吸收。 蠕动波有助于压实废物和难消化的食物并将其移动大肠以进行排泄。

Peristalsis Creates Propulsion: How Food Moves Through the Alimentary Canal

Overview of the digestive systemThe alimentary canal is a single continuous tube that includes the oral cavity, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small intestine, and large intestine.  After food is chewed, made into a bolus, and swallowed, the action of the epiglottis routes the bolus into the esophagus. From there, peristaltic waves propel ingested foodstuffs through the alimentary canal.

1. The Epiglottis Directs Swallowed Foodstuffs Down the Esophagus

Click to play an animation of the Epiglottis

The respiratory and digestive systems share structures in the back of the oral cavity that connect with both the trachea (of the respiratory system) and the esophagus (of the digestive system). What prevents swallowed food from “going down the wrong pipe”? With each swallow a structure called the epiglottis closes over respiratory structures. The swallowed bolus stays on course and is directed toward the esophagus. One peristaltic wave can be enough to move a bolus down the esophagus and into the stomach.

2. Peristalsis Is the Contraction of Muscle Tissue That Helps Move and Break Down Foodstuffs 

Click for an animated depiction of peristalsis

The walls of the alimentary canal include layers of smooth muscle controlled by the autonomic nervous system. Alternating contraction and relaxation of these muscles is called peristalsis. Peristaltic waves push the swallowed bolus down the esophagus. In the stomach, peristalsis churns swallowed food, mixing it with gastric juices. These mechanical and chemical actions further break down food into a substance called chyme. It takes about a minute to chew a piece of food into a bolus and a few seconds to swallow it. Once in the stomach foodstuffs take a few hours to become chyme.

3. Peristaltic Waves Move Nutrients and Waste Through the Intestines

Time for various digestion processesMost nutrient absorption from the foods we eat occurs in the small intestine. When chyme passes from the stomach into the small intestine, peristaltic waves shift it back and forth and mix it with digestive enzymes and fluids. Nutrients from the chyme are absorbed into the bloodstream through the intestinal walls. Peristaltic waves in the small intestine are smaller and more regular, pushing the chyme for 3 to 6 hours before passing it to the large intestine where any final absorption takes place. Peristaltic waves help compact and move waste and indigestible foodstuffs through the large intestine for elimination. 

 

External Resources

Microbes and You from The Science Creative Quarterly.

A cadaver image of the esophagus from Stony Brook University School of Medicine. The Body Online.