尿液的储存和排出:尿液的体内路径

© 2019 Visible Body

膀胱

当膀胱壁中的平滑肌伸展时,触发排尿反射(排尿)。

iTunesGoogle Play

膀胱截面图,显示膀胱颈、逼尿肌、膀胱三角和尿道

肾脏内产生的尿液向下经输尿管流入膀胱。膀胱像弹性囊一样膨胀以容纳更多尿液。在容量充满时,排尿(俗称撒尿)过程开始。非自主肌肉运动向神经系统发出信号,使排尿决定受到意识的控制。

1.两块尿道括约肌维持控尿功能

膀胱的尿道内外括约肌

尿道内括约肌和尿道外括约肌都为尿流提供肌肉控制。内括约肌是非自主的。它围绕着通往尿道的膀胱开口,舒张以允许尿液通过。外括约肌是自主的。它在膀胱外部包围尿道,必须舒张才能排尿。

2. 膀胱在尿液充盈时膨胀

显示膀胱解剖结构的正截面图

空的膀胱呈锥形。尿液充盈并扩张时变得更加呈卵圆形。被称为逼尿肌的平滑肌环绕膀胱,称为皱褶的襞衬于内壁。这些结构使膀胱具有弹性并可以扩张。膀胱底包括由两个输尿管口和尿道内括约肌形成的一个漏斗状区域,被称为膀胱三角。尿液通过输尿管口流入膀胱,并通过内括约肌流出。

3. 排尿肌肉:逼尿肌和尿道括约肌

存有尿液的膀胱和排尿过程中的膀胱,以及动作实现排尿过程的尿道括约肌和逼尿肌

排尿(俗称撒尿)是排空膀胱的活动。当膀胱中尿液充盈时,膀胱壁中的牵张感受器触发排尿反射。围绕膀胱的逼尿肌收缩。尿道内括约肌舒张,使尿液得以从膀胱流出进入尿道。这两种反应都是非自主的。尿道外括约肌是自主的。只有其舒张,尿液才能流经尿道排出体外。

4. 膀胱充盈到什么程度后我们就需要排尿?

充盈的膀胱和排尿肌肉负责排尿冲动。

随着尿液从输尿管流入,膀胱会扩张,但是膀胱所能容纳的容量有限。在大约200毫升尿液时,逼尿肌开始收缩,尿道内括约肌开始舒张。这通过神经系统发送信号,并产生要排尿的“冲动”。如果忽略此冲动,控尿会受到威胁。大约500毫升时,逼尿肌开始收缩以强行打开尿道内括约肌。除非尿外道括约肌强度足以防止,否则会非自主地发生排尿(撒尿)。

5. 膀胱伸展会触发神经系统引发和控制排尿

单击播放对充盈膀胱神经反应的动画

平滑肌伸展,通过激活膀胱壁内的牵张感受器引发排尿反射。这种自主反射会导致逼尿肌收缩和尿道内括约肌舒张,让尿液能够流进尿道。牵张感受器还向丘脑和大脑皮层发送信息,从而让尿道外括约肌能自主控制此过程。伴随着大脑发育,我们通常会在2到3岁之间获得这种排尿控制。

Urine Storage and Elimination: The Path of Urine Through the Body

Touch

© 2019 Visible Body

Urinary bladder

When smooth muscle in the wall of the bladder stretches, the micturition reflex (urination) is triggered.

iTunesGoogle Play

Cross section of the urinary bladder showing the neck, detrusor, trigone and urethra

Urine produced in the kidneys travels down the ureters into the urinary bladder. The bladder expands like an elastic sac to hold more urine. As it reaches capacity, the process of micturition, or urination, begins. Involuntary muscle movements send signals to the nervous system, putting the decision to urinate under conscious control.

1. The Two Urethral Sphincters Maintain Urinary Continence

The external and internal urethral sphincters of the bladder

The internal urethral sphincter and the external urethral sphincter both provide muscle control for the flow of urine. The internal sphincter is involuntary. It surrounds the opening of the bladder to the urethra and relaxes to allow urine to pass. The external sphincter is voluntary. It surrounds the urethra outside the bladder and must be relaxed for urination to occur.

2. The Bladder Expands As It Fills with Urine

Frontal cross section showing the anatomy of the bladder

The bladder is shaped like a pyramid when empty. It becomes more oval as it fills with urine and expands. A smooth muscle called the detrusor surrounds the bladder, and folds called rugae line the interior wall. These structures give the bladder elasticity and allow it to expand. The floor of the bladder includes a funnel-like region called the trigone, formed by the two ureteral orifices and the internal urethral sphincter. Urine flows into the bladder via the ureteral orifices and out through the internal sphincter.

3. Muscles of Micturition: The Detrusor and Urethral Sphincters

A bladder storing urine, and a bladder in the process of urination, with the urethral sphincters and detrusors acting to facilitate the process

Micturition, or urination, is the act of emptying the bladder. When the bladder is full of urine, stretch receptors in the bladder wall trigger the micturition reflex. The detrusor muscle that surrounds the bladder contracts. The internal urethral sphincter relaxes, allowing for urine to pass out of the bladder into the urethra. Both of these reactions are involuntary. The external urethral sphincter is voluntary. It must be relaxed for urine to flow through the urethra and outside the body.

4. How Full Does the Bladder Get Before We Have to Urinate?

A full bladder, and the muscles of urination responsible for the urge to urinate.

The bladder expands as urine flows in from the ureters, but there is a limit to the volume it can contain. At about 200 ml of urine, the detrusor muscle begins to contract and the internal urethral sphincter muscle begins to relax. This sends signals through the nervous system and creates the “urge” to urinate. If this urge is ignored, continence may be threatened. At about 500 ml, detrusor muscle contractions begin to force open the internal urethral sphincter. Unless the external urethral sphincter is powerful enough to prevent it, micturition (urination) will occur involuntarily.

5. Bladder Stretch Triggers the Nervous System to Initiate and Control Micturition

Click to play an animation of the nervous response to a full bladder

Smooth muscle stretch initiates the micturition reflex by activating stretch receptors in the bladder wall. This autonomic reflex causes the detrusor muscle to contract and the internal urethral sphincter muscle to relax, allowing urine to flow into the urethra. The stretch receptors also send a message to the thalamus and the cerebral cortex, giving voluntary control over the external urethral sphincter. We usually gain this control of urination between the ages of 2 and 3, as our brains develop.

External Sources

A description of the urinary bladder from the 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body.

Using bladder ultrasound to detect urinary retention in patients from Nursing Times.