神经元的故事:有生命的电线细胞内部一瞥

© 2019 Visible Body

神经元

神经元将感觉信息和运动命令以电信号的方式中继,从而让大脑和身体可以进行通信。

iTunesGoogle Play

神经系统最复杂的工作取决于通过神经元发送的信息。神经元和神经胶质和它们的支持细胞一道组成了所有神经系统组织。它们快速接收和中继信息,将其作为电信号进行传输。神经元释放神经递质,这是一种让信息跳跃到下一个神经元或体细胞的化学物质。脊髓中专门的神经元形成神经束,从而加快往返大脑的信息传递。进一步阅读以更多了解这些“有生命的电线”细胞。

1. 神经元和神经胶质:组成神经系统的细胞

神经元和某些类型神经胶质的示意图

神经系统、脑、脊髓、周围神经和神经节的结构由神经组织构成。在细胞水平上,这种组织包含神经元和神经胶质。神经元是信息载体。它们传递感觉信号和运动命令。神经胶质细胞支撑神经元以及支持与环绕神经组织的其他结构。星形胶质细胞是脑中最常见的神经胶质细胞,其围绕着毛细血管,维持着血流和神经元之间的屏障,并主动控制通过该屏障的物质。其他神经胶质细胞还包括小胶质细胞、室管膜细胞和少突胶质细胞,可维持神经元稳态、清除病原体、循环脑脊液、保护神经元并影响其信号传导速度。

2. 快速导体:神经元的形状和结构实现了神经系统信号的快速传递

神经元结构示意图

典型的神经元包含一个细胞体,后者有许多被称为树突的突触。由树突接收的信号影响细胞体的电荷,从而决定了动作电位的电势。细胞体去极化到足够水平后,轴丘区域启动传递到尾状轴突的动作电位。多数轴突都很短,但有些可长达3英尺。髓鞘保护轴突并提升其导电性(或信号速度)。电信号迅速顺行至轴突终端。然后终端分支释放神经递质,对其目标细胞(其他神经元、腺体、器官)产生兴奋或抑制作用。

3. 脊髓神经元形成神经束

脊髓中神经束的示意图

长圆柱形的脊髓主要由轴突束组成,其向上和向下延伸,传递往返脑部的信号。在脊髓横截面中,轴突通路表现为环绕神经元细胞体“灰质”周围的“白质”(髓鞘使轴突变白)。白质在脊髓的每侧形成三条柱(索柱):后柱(背柱)、前柱(腹柱)和侧柱。完全不同的神经束贯穿这三条柱。每条神经束均由承载相同类型同向信号的轴突构成。上行神经束将感觉输入向上传递至脑部。下行神经束将运动指令向下传递至身体。

4. 化学信号:神经元通过神经递质传输信息

神经递质在突触间移动方式的概述

当电信号到达神经元轴突终端时,它们刺激被称为神经递质的化学物质释放。神经递质穿过突触到达其他神经元或目标细胞,从而刺激或抑制信号和反应。乙酰胆碱、肾上腺素和降甲肾上腺素以及血清素是最常见的神经递质。一些神经递质会在神经系统的某些部位更加突出,这是因为它们专门在脑内或神经元与肌肉组织或其他类型的组织之间传递信息。这些化学物质是神经系统调节身体运动和内部功能的关键。

The Story of Neurons: A Look Inside Live Wire Cells

An overview of how neurons conduct messages as electrical signals

The most complex workings of the nervous system depend on messages sent through neurons. Together with their support cells, neuroglia, neurons make up all nervous system tissue. They receive and relay messages quickly, conducting them as electrical signals. Neurons release neurotransmitters, chemicals that jump the message to the next neuron or body cell. Specialized neurons in the spinal cord form neural tracts that speed messages to and from the brain. Read on to learn more about these “live-wire” cells.

1. Neurons and Neuroglia: The Cells That Make Up the Nervous System

A diagram of a neuron and some types of neuroglia

Structures of the nervous system, brain, spinal cord, peripheral nerves, and ganglia are formed from nervous tissue. At the cellular level, this tissue consists of neurons and neuroglia. Neurons are the message carriers. They transmit sensory signals and motor commands. Neuroglia support the neurons and other structures that supply and surround nervous tissue. Astrocytes, the most common neuroglia in the brain, surround capillaries, maintain a barrier between the bloodstream and the neurons, and actively control what gets through that barrier. Other neuroglia, including microglia, ependymal cells, and oligodendrocytes, maintain neuronal homeostasis, remove pathogens, circulate cerebrospinal fluid, protect neurons, and affect their signaling speed.

2. Speedy Conductors: The Shape and Structure of Neurons Facilitate the Rapid Transmission of Nervous System Signals

A diagram of the structure of a neuron

A typical neuron consists of a cell body, or soma, that has many branches called dendrites. Signals received by the dendrites affect the electrical charge of the cell body, determining the likelihood of an action potential. If the soma is depolarized enough then the axon hillock region initiates an action potential that travels down the tail-like axon. Most axons are short but some can be as long as 3 feet. Myelin sheaths protect them and increase their conductivity, or signal speed. The electric signal zips down to the axon terminal. The terminal branches then release neurotransmitters, which have an excitatory or inhibitory effect on their target (other neurons, glands, organs).

3. The Neurons of the Spinal Cord Form Neural Tracts

A diagram of neural tracts in the spinal cord

The long cylinder of the spinal cord consists mostly of bundles of axons that extend up and down to carry signals to or from the brain. In a spinal cord cross-section, the axon pathways appear as “white matter” (myelin sheaths make the axons white) surrounding the “gray matter” of the neuron cell bodies. The white matter forms three columns (funiculi) on each side of the spinal cord: the posterior (dorsal), anterior (ventral), and lateral columns. Distinct neural tracts run through these three columns. Each tract consists of axons that carry similar types of signals in the same direction. Ascending tracts carry sensory input upward to the brain. Descending tracts send motor commands downward to the body.

4. Chemical Signals: Neurons Transmit Information Through Neurotransmitters

An overview of how neurotransmitters move between synapses

When an electrical signal reaches the axons terminal of a neuron, it stimulates the release of special chemicals called neurotransmitters. Neurotransmitters travel across synapses to the other neurons or to target cells, stimulating or inhibiting signals and responses. Acetylcholine, epinephrine and norepinephrine, and serotonin are among the most common neurotransmitters. Some neurotransmitters are more prominent in certain parts of the nervous system because they specialize in carrying messages within the brain, or between neurons and muscular tissue or other types of tissue. These chemicals are key to the nervous system’s regulation of body movement and internal functions.

External Sources

An article in Science Daily on a research study about the link between a neurotransmitter and alcohol dependence.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.

An essay on microglia in Science Creative Quarterly.