内部调节器:内分泌腺刺激并控制身体功能

© 2019 Visible Body

甲状腺

旋转甲状腺的这个三维模型,可看到它在颈部正面和侧面的位置。

iTunesGoogle Play

主要和次要内分泌腺及发挥作用方式的描述

内分泌系统的腺体将激素分泌到血液中,维持体内稳态并调节代谢。下丘脑和垂体是命令及控制中心,它们将激素引导至其他腺体和全身。其他主要内分泌腺包括甲状腺和甲状旁腺、肾上腺和松果体。它们不仅能调节血液中各种物质的水平,还能调节代谢、生长、睡眠周期和其他过程。胰腺等器官也分泌激素,它们也是内分泌系统的一部分。次要内分泌器官包括性腺、肾脏和胸腺。

1. 指挥中心:下丘脑和垂体控制内分泌系统

下丘脑和垂体示意图,包含漏斗和间脑

下丘脑和垂体是脑部间脑区域的一部分。下丘脑将神经系统与内分泌系统连接起来。它接收和处理来自其他脑部区域和通路的信号,将它们转化为激素,即内分泌系统的化学信使。这些激素流向通过漏斗与下丘脑相连的垂体。一些下丘脑激素被储存在垂体中,以便以后释放;其他激素则刺激它分泌自身的激素。垂体和下丘脑释放的激素控制其他内分泌腺并调节所有主要内部功能。

2. 松果体运作着一个日常生物钟

松果体示意图,显示了其如何产生褪黑激素

松果体很小并呈松果形状,位于脑部间脑区域的后部。松果体是大脑中心附近看起来独一无二的不成对结构,是曾在历史上富有魅力的研究对象。17世纪的法国哲学家笛卡尔认为它一定是“灵魂的座位”。这种想法可能源于松果体在睡眠中的作用。晚上,在光线不足的情况下,松果体会分泌褪黑素。褪黑素以昼夜节律(每日)和季节性模式调节人体的睡眠模式。在清晨,当阳光照在眼睛上时,视网膜中的感光器会向松果体发送信号,之后这会降低褪黑素的产生。

3. 甲状腺和甲状旁腺可加快代谢并调节钙水平

甲状腺和甲状旁腺前视图和后视图,含喉和气管

甲状腺位于紧靠喉下方的喉咙区域,由带有许多分支和密集毛细血管网络的大动脉供血。其释放的甲状腺激素甲状腺素(T4)和三碘甲状腺原氨酸(T3)随血流输送至全身,以促进代谢、葡萄糖利用、蛋白质合成和神经系统发育。甲状腺还释放降钙素,当血钙水平过高时,其造成钙从血液中去除并沉积到骨骼中,从而有助于维持血钙的稳态。位于甲状腺后表面的是小得多的单独腺体:甲状旁腺。甲状旁腺通常有四个,在甲状腺的左右两侧各有上下一对。它们分泌甲状旁腺激素(PTH或甲状旁腺素),会在血钙水平偏低时刺激骨骼将钙释放到血液中。PTH还可以使肾脏减少将钙排泌到尿液中,从而进一步提高血钙水平。降钙素和PTH相辅相成,共同维持血钙的稳态,这是人体中受到最严格控制的生理参数之一。

4. 肾上腺调节血液中的物质水平并释放“战斗-逃跑”激素

肾上腺示意图,显示肾上腺髓质、肾上腺皮质和肾脏

肾上腺是锥形的器官,位于每个肾脏的顶部。每个肾上腺都包含两个结构:外部的皮质和内部的髓质。肾上腺皮质是细小结缔组织的网络,它们构成了腺体的大部分。它分泌多种类固醇激素。皮质醇等糖皮质激素控制蛋白质和葡萄糖的水平。醛固酮等盐皮质激素调节水和盐的水平。两种性别的肾上腺皮质上都能分泌少量的促性腺激素(雄激素和雌激素)。肾上腺髓质产生肾上腺素和降肾上腺素(NE)。这些化学物质促成“战斗-逃跑”,即人体对应激的初始反应。

5. 主要贡献者:胰腺调节血糖

胰腺示意图,显示胰管、胰岛、胃和小肠

一些其他身体系统的器官也会产生激素,并因此被认作内分泌系统的“次要器官”。例如,作为消化系统一部分的胰腺。它通过胰管将胰液排泄到小肠中。但是,在胰腺内还散布着称为胰岛(或朗罕氏胰岛)的微小细胞簇,其将激素释放到血液中。这些胰岛仅占不到2%的胰腺组织,但它们的特异性细胞能调节血液葡萄糖水平(或血糖)。当血糖低时,胰岛中的α细胞释放胰高血糖素。胰高血糖素刺激肝脏分解糖原,并向血液中释放更多的葡萄糖。血糖水平偏高时,胰岛中的β细胞会释放增加葡萄糖再摄入的胰岛素。

Internal Regulators: The Endocrine Glands Stimulate and Control Body Functions

© 2019 Visible Body

Thyroid

Rotate this 3D model of the thyroid to see its location at the front and sides of the neck.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W
A description of primary and secondary endocrine glands and how they work

The glands of the endocrine system secrete hormones into the bloodstream to maintain homeostasis and regulate metabolism. The hypothalamus and the pituitary gland are the command and control centers, directing hormones to other glands and throughout the body. Other primary endocrine glands, including the thyroid and parathyroid glands, the adrenal glands, and the pineal gland, adjust the levels of various substances in the blood and regulate metabolism, growth, the sleep cycle, and other processes. Organs such as the pancreas also secrete hormones as part of the endocrine system. Secondary endocrine organs include the gonads, kidneys, and thymus.

1. Command Centers: The Hypothalamus and the Pituitary Gland Direct the Endocrine System

A diagram of the hypothalamus and pituitary glands, with the infundibulum and diencephalon

The hypothalamus and the pituitary gland are part of the diencephalon region of the brain. The hypothalamus connects the nervous system to the endocrine system. It receives and processes signals from other brain regions and pathways and translates them into hormones, the chemical messengers of the endocrine system. These hormones flow to the pituitary gland, which is connected to the hypothalamus by the infundibulum. Some hypothalamic hormones are stored in the pituitary stores for later release; others spur it to secrete its own hormones. The hormones released by the pituitary gland and the hypothalamus control the other endocrine glands and regulate all major internal functions.

2. The Pineal Gland Runs a Daily Biological Clock

A diagram of the pineal gland showing how it produces melatonin

The pineal gland is small and pinecone-shaped, located at the posterior of the diencephalon region in the brain. As a seemingly unique, unpaired structure near the center of the brain, the pineal gland has been an object of historical fascination. The 17th-century French philosopher René Descartes thought it must be the “seat of the soul.” Perhaps the thought stemmed from the pineal gland’s role in sleep. At night, in the absence of light, the pineal gland secretes the hormone melatonin. Melatonin regulates the body’s sleep patterns in both circadian (daily) and seasonal patterns. In the morning, when light hits the eye, photo receptors in the retina send signals to the pineal gland, which then decreases melatonin production.

3. The Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands Increase Metabolism and Regulate Calcium Levels

Anterior and posterior views of the thyroid and parathyroid glands, with the larynx and trachea

The thyroid gland sits in the throat region, just below the larynx, served by large arteries with many branches and a dense network of capillaries. The thyroid hormones it secretes, thyroxine (T4) and triiodothyronine (T3), travel in the bloodstream throughout the body to increase metabolism, glucose use, protein synthesis, and nervous system development. The thyroid also releases calcitonin, which helps maintain blood calcium homeostasis by causing calcium to be removed from blood and deposited into bones when blood (calcium) levels are too high. On the posterior surface of the thyroid sit much smaller, separate glands: the parathyroids. Typically there are four parathyroid glands, a superior and inferior pair on the left and right sides of the thyroid. They secrete parathyroid hormone (PTH or parathormone), which stimulates bones to release calcium into the blood when blood (calcium) levels are low. PTH also causes the kidneys to reduce calcium secretion into urine to further elevate calcium levels in the blood. Together, calcitonin and PTH act in complementary ways to maintain blood calcium homeostasis, which is one of the most tightly controlled physiological parameters in the body.

4. The Adrenal Glands Regulate Substance Levels in the Blood and Release “Fight-or-Flight” Hormones

A diagram of the adrenal glands, showing the adrenal medulla, adrenal cortex, and the kidney

The adrenal glands are pyramid-shaped organs that sit at the top of each kidney. Each adrenal gland consists of two structures: an outer adrenal cortex and an inner adrenal medulla. The adrenal cortex is a network of fine connective tissues that makes up most of the gland. It secretes a range of steroid hormones. Glucocorticoids, such as cortisol, manage protein and glucose levels. Mineralocorticoids, including aldosterone, adjust levels of water and salt. Gonadocorticoids (androgens and estrogens) are secreted by the adrenal cortex in small amounts by both sexes. The adrenal medulla produces epinephrine and norepinephrine (NE). These chemicals promote “fight-or-flight,” the body’s initial response to stress.

5. Key Contributor: The Pancreas Regulates Blood Sugar

A diagram of the pancreas, showing the pancreatic duct, pancreatic islets, stomach, and small intestine

Some organs from other body systems also secrete hormones, and so are considered “secondary organs” of the endocrine system. The pancreas, for example, is part of the digestive system. It excretes pancreatic juice into the small intestine via the pancreatic duct. But scattered within the pancreas there are also tiny cell clusters called pancreatic islets (or islets of Langerhans) that release hormones into the bloodstream. These islets make up less than 2% of pancreatic tissue, but their specialized cells regulate blood glucose levels (or blood sugar). When blood sugar is low, alpha cells in the islets release glucagon. Glucagon spurs the liver to break down glycogen and release more glucose into the blood. When blood sugar is high, beta cells in the islets release insulin, which increases glucose reuptake.

External Sources

An article in Science Daily on a discovery about the structure of the pituitary gland.

A description of the parathyroid gland from the 1918 edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.

A resource for learning about the anatomy of the endocrine system from the the University of Chicago School of Medicine Online Library.