给肾脏一点掌声:您还想在其他什么地方滤过血液?

© 2019 Visible Body

肾脏

肾脏位于腹部后部,在T12和L03椎骨的高度之间。

iTunesGoogle Play

显示肾盂和肾锥体结构的肾脏截面图

肾脏位于背侧腹壁,处于泌尿系统的起点。这些器官一直不停地工作:肾单位(肾锥体中的细小结构)每天滤过很多加仑的血液。肾脏重吸收重要物质,清除废物并使滤过后的血液返回身体。这对它们来说还不够忙碌,肾脏还会产生尿液来清除所有废物。

1.肾脏是腹部的腹膜后器官

肾脏相对于肝脏、胸椎和腰椎的位置

肾脏位于腹膜后,因此其被称为腹膜后器官。其位于腹部背侧,在T12和L03椎骨的高度之间。右肾比左肾略低,以便为肝脏留出位置。两个肾脏均呈蚕豆形,大小与成年人拳头差不多。

2. 血液通过肾动脉流入和流出肾脏

血液通过肾动脉和肾静脉流入和流出肾脏。血液通过肾动脉进入肾脏。这些动脉支分成细小的毛细血管,其与肾脏内部的泌尿结构(也就是肾单位)相互作用。血液在这里滤过。废物被清除,重要物质被重新吸收返回血流。滤过后的血液通过肾静脉离开。人体血液每天都会进出肾脏数百次—即每24小时要滤过200夸脱的液体。

3. 肾脏由三个主要部分组成

显示出肾锥体和髓质的肾脏横截面。

每个肾脏包含外部肾皮质、内部肾髓质和肾盂。血液在肾皮质中滤过。肾髓质包含肾锥体,尿液就在肾锥体中产生。尿液从肾锥体流入肾盂。漏斗形的结构占据了每个肾脏的中央腔,然后随其向外延伸而变窄以连接输尿管。尿液从肾盂流入输尿管。

4.肾单位:滤过血液和产生尿液的基本功能单位

显示出肾小管、肾椎体和肾皮质的肾单元解剖结构和功能。

每个肾脏含有超过一百万个被称为肾单位的微小结构。肾单位部分位于皮质中,部分位于肾锥体内部,其中肾小管构成了肾锥体质量的大部分。肾单位执行肾脏的主要功能:调节身体中的水和其他物质的浓度。它们滤过血液,重吸收身体需要的物质,并排泌其他部分成为尿液。

Give It Up for the Kidneys: Where Else Would You Want Your Blood Filtered?

© 2019 Visible Body

Kidney

The kidneys sit in the back of the abdomen between the levels of the T12 and L03 vertebrae.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W A cross section of the kidney showing the renal pelvis and pyramid structures

The kidneys sit at the back of the abdominal wall and at the start of the urinary system. These organs are constantly at work: Nephrons, tiny structures in the renal pyramids, filter gallons of blood each day. The kidneys reabsorb vital substances, remove unwanted ones, and return the filtered blood back to the body. As if they weren’t busy enough, the kidneys also create urine to remove all the waste.

1. The Kidneys Are Retroperitoneal Organs in the Abdomen

The location of the kidney in relation to the liver, and thoracic and lumbar vertebrae

The kidneys are located behind the peritoneum, and so are called retroperitoneal organs. They sit in the back of the abdomen between the levels of the T12 and L03 vertebrae. The right kidney is slightly lower than the left kidney to accommodate the liver. Both kidneys are bean-shaped and about the size of an adult fist.

2. Blood Flows In and Out of the Kidneys Through Renal Arteries and Veins

Blood flow into and out of the kidneys through the renal artery and veinsBlood enters the kidneys through renal arteries. These arteries branch into tiny capillaries that interact with urinary structures inside the kidneys (namely the nephrons). Here the blood is filtered. Waste is removed and vital substances are reabsorbed back into the bloodstream. The filtered blood leaves through the renal veins. All the blood in the body moves in and out of the kidneys hundreds of times each day—that’s about 200 quarts of liquid to be filtered every 24 hours.

3. The Kidneys Are Composed of Three Main Sections

A cross section of the kidneys showing the renal pyramids and medulla.

Each kidney consists of an outer renal cortex, an inner renal medulla, and a renal pelvis. Blood is filtered in the renal cortex. The renal medulla contains the renal pyramids, where urine formation takes place. Urine passes from the renal pyramids into the renal pelvis. This funnel-shaped structure occupies the central cavity of each kidney and then narrows as it extends out to join the ureter. Urine drains from the renal pelvis into the ureter.

4. Nephrons: The Basic Functional Units of Blood Filtration and Urine Production

The anatomy and function of the nephron showing nephron tubules, renal pyramids, and renal cortex

Each kidney contains over 1 million tiny structures called nephrons. The nephrons are located partly in the cortex and partly inside the renal pyramids, where the nephron tubules make up most of the pyramid mass. Nephrons perform the primary function of the kidneys: regulating the concentration of water and other substances in the body. They filter the blood, reabsorb what the body needs, and excrete the rest as urine.

External Sources

A cross-section of an adult kidney from the University of Utah Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.

Study: Brain structure of kidney donors may make them more altruistic from Georgetown University.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.