泌尿系统病理学:常见疾病和障碍

肾脏疾病和障碍的汇总图

肾脏或膀胱疾病会损害泌尿系统功能。以下是泌尿系统的一些常见疾病。

1. 由尿液中的物质形成肾结石

单击播泌尿道中肾结石形成过程的动画

肾脏产生尿液以清除废物。当尿液中的矿物质和酸式盐结晶并彼此粘连时,会形成肾结石。如果结石体积小,可以轻松经过泌尿系统并排出体外。但是,较大的结石会卡在泌尿道中。卡住的肾结石会导致疼痛并阻塞尿液流动。

2. 尿失禁是丧失膀胱的控制

单击以播放括约肌弱化并引起膀胱控制问题的动画

大部分膀胱控制问题都是由于尿道括约肌太弱或太活跃。如果括约肌太弱,咳嗽或打喷嚏就可能引起排尿。括约肌太活跃会在膀胱存尿很少时触发突然、强烈的冲动。这些问题被诊断为尿失禁(UI)。女性发生UI的几率是男性的两倍。这种疾病会随着年龄的增长而愈发普遍。

3. 充满液体的囊肿会在肾脏中形成

单击播放肾脏中囊肿形成过程的动画

单纯肾囊肿是一种圆形或密闭囊袋,其内通常充满液体。患多囊肾病(PKD)时,肾脏内部形成囊肿簇,取代了功能性组织。受累肾脏的体积变大,功能下降。PKD是一种遗传病,通常会导致肾脏衰竭,需要透析或肾脏移植。获得性肾囊肿(ACKD)通常会影响已经因慢性肾脏病接受透析的人。在ACKD中,肾脏不会肿大,也不会出现其他症状。

4. 慢性肾脏疾病会导致肾脏衰竭

健康肾脏和患病肾脏的比较

在慢性肾病(CKD)中,肾脏受损,不能正常进行血液滤过。这种损害可能导致体内废物堆积,并导致包括肾衰竭在内的其他问题。CKD的最常见原因包括糖尿病、心脏病和高血压。患病的肾脏看起来更小,表面呈颗粒状。

Urinary System Pathologies: Common Diseases and Disorders

A summary image of kidney diseases and disorders

Diseases of the kidneys or bladder can compromise urinary system functions. Below are some common diseases of the urinary system.

1. Kidney Stones Form from Substances in Urine

Click to play an animation of kidney stone formation in the urinary tract

The kidneys produce urine to eliminate waste. Kidney stones can form when mineral and acid salts in the urine crystallize and stick together. If the stone is small, it can pass easily through the urinary system and out of the body. A larger stone can get stuck in the urinary tract, however. A stuck kidney stone causes pain and can block the flow of urine.

2. Urinary Incontinence Is the Loss of Bladder Control

Click to play an animation of the sphincter weakening and causing bladder control issues

Most bladder control issues arise when the sphincter muscles of the urethra are too weak or too active. If the sphincter muscles are too weak, a cough or sneeze can cause urination. Sphincter muscles that are too active can trigger a sudden, strong urge to urinate with little urine in the bladder. These issues are diagnosed as urinary incontinence (UI). Women experience UI twice as often as men. It becomes more common with age.

3. Fluid-filled Cysts Can Develop in the Kidneys

Click to play an animation of cyst formation on the kidneys

A simple kidney cyst is a rounded pouch or a closed pocket that is usually filled with fluid. In polycystic kidney disease (PKD), clusters of cysts form inside the kidneys and take the place of the normal tissue. The affected kidneys become enlarged and work poorly. PKD is an inherited condition that often leads to kidney failure, requiring dialysis or kidney transplantation. Acquired cystic kidney disease (ACKD) typically affects people already on dialysis from chronic kidney disease. In ACKD the kidneys do not enlarge and no other symptoms occur.

4. Chronic Kidney Disease Can Lead to Kidney Failure

A comparison of healthy and diseased kidneys

In chronic kidney disease (CKD), the kidneys are damaged and unable to filter blood properly. This damage can lead to a build-up of waste substances in the body and to other problems, including kidney failure. The most common causes of CKD include diabetes, heart disease, and high blood pressure. A diseased kidney may look smaller and have a granular surface.

External Sources

Diet may be linked to UTIs from Science Daily.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.