口腔的结构负责消化的第一步: 摄入

© 2019 Visible Body

口腔

口腔由牙齿、舌头、硬腭和软腭组成。

iTunesGoogle Play

显示牙齿、舌头、硬腭和软腭的口腔剖面图

口腔以牙齿、舌头、硬腭和软腭为界。 这些结构构成口腔,并在消化的第一步中扮演了关键的角色: 摄入: 牙齿和舌头与唾液腺合作在这里将食物破碎成可被吞咽的小块,为它们走完消化道的旅程做好准备。

1. 机械消化开始于牙齿咬碎摄入的食物

单击播放咀嚼的动画描述

颚的活动使牙齿将食物粉碎成小块。 下颌骨(或称下颚骨)是头部中唯一移动的骨骼,颞骨与下颌骨连接点构成头部仅有的两个活动关节。 咀嚼的英文正式名称是mastication。 这是机械消化的第一步。

2. 唾液润湿食物并开始化学消化过程

口腔的唾液腺帮助消化

唾液腺分泌唾液帮助机械和化学消化过程。 唾液含有大约99%的水分,不仅可以润湿食物,还能清洁口腔,溶解食物中的化学物质而让食物可以被品尝,并含有开始淀粉类食物化学分解的酶。 唾液腺有三对: 腮腺、舌下腺和下颌下腺(也称为颌下腺)。

3. 舌头让食团成形,使其它可以沿着咽部和食管向下移动

单击查看蠕动的动画描述

舌头将咀嚼的食物分成被称为食团的小块,并将其移到口咽部。 接下来的步骤是非自主的: 食物通过咽部,会厌软骨封闭气管,蠕动波将食团顺着食管推进胃中。

Structures of the Oral Cavity Are Responsible for the First Step of Digestion: Ingestion

Profile view of the oral cavity showing the teeth, tongue, hard and soft palatesThe oral cavity is bounded by the teeth, tongue, hard palate, and soft palate. These structures make up the mouth and play a key role in the first step of digestion: ingestion. This is where the teeth and tongue work with salivary glands to break down food into small masses that can be swallowed, preparing them for the journey through the alimentary canal.

1. Mechanical Digestion Begins When the Teeth Break Down Ingested Food

Click to play animated description of chewing

The movement of the jaw enables the teeth to grind food into small fragments. The mandible, or jawbone, is the only bone in the head that moves, and the points where the temporal bones connect to the mandible make up the only two movable joints in the head. The official name for chewing is mastication. This is the first step in mechanical digestion.

2. Saliva Moistens Food and Begins the Process of Chemical Digestion

Salivary glands of the mouth to aid digestionSaliva secreted by salivary glands aids the mechanical and chemical process of digestion. Saliva is about 99% water and not only moistens food but cleanses the mouth, dissolves food chemicals so they can be tasted, and contains enzymes that start the chemical breakdown of starchy foods. There are three pairs of salivary glands: parotid, sublingual, and submandibular (also called the submaxillary gland).

3. The Tongue Creates a Bolus so It Can Travel Down the Pharynx and Esophagus

Click for an animated depiction of peristalsis

The tongue manipulates the chewed food into a small mass called a bolus, then moves it to the oropharynx. The next steps are involuntary: the bolus passes through the pharynx, the epiglottis closes off the trachea and directs the bolus down the esophagus, and peristaltic waves move the bolus into the stomach.

 

External Resources

A description of the oral cavity from the 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body (iPad, Android, PC, Mac, Windows Touch) provides in-depth coverage of the respiratory system in a guided visually stunning presentation. Download a unit for free for PC or Mac.