血管结构和功能: 循环网络如何帮助为全身提供燃料

© 2019 Visible Body

静脉

静脉是循环系统中的血管,通过将血液输送到心脏为循环提供支持。

iTunesGoogle Play

人体血管

流经循环系统的血液将营养物质、氧气和水输送到全身的细胞。 旅程可从心脏开始和结束,但血管沿途到达每个重要部位。 这些动脉、静脉和毛细血管构成了庞大的管道网络。 如果将身体的所有血管排成一条线,它们会延伸近60,000英里。 这足以绕地球三圈!

1. 三种主要类型的血管: 动脉、静脉和毛细血管

不同类型的血管和它们的各层

血管使血液在全身流动。 动脉将血液传送出心脏。 静脉使血液返回心脏。 毛细血管包围身体细胞和组织,以传递和吸收氧气、营养物质和其他物质。 毛细血管还将动脉分支连接到静脉分支。 大多数血管的壁有不同三层: 血管外膜、中膜和内膜。 这三层结构围绕着管腔,血液便通过这个内侧的空腔流动。

2. 含氧血液通过动脉流出心脏

人体的大动脉和分支

心脏的左心室将含氧血液泵入主动脉。 血液从这里流经大动脉,大动脉又分支成肌性动脉,然后分支到微细的小动脉。 小动脉分支进入毛细血管网络,为组织提供氧气和营养。 动脉壁比静脉壁厚,有更多的平滑肌和弹性组织。 这种结构允许动脉在血液经过其泵送时可以扩张。

3. 静脉将血液带回心脏

上腔静脉和下腔静脉

在毛细血管将血液中的氧气和其他物质释放到身体组织后,它们将血液送回静脉。 首先,血液进入称为小静脉的显微静脉分支。 小静脉将血液导入静脉,通过腔静脉将其输送回心脏。 静脉壁比动脉壁更薄,并且弹性更小。 推动血液通过它们的压力不是很大。 事实上,静脉管腔内有瓣膜,以防止血液回流。

4. 毛细血管中发生血液和组织之间的气体、营养物质和废物交换

单击播放血液流经毛细血管的动画

毛细血管是从小动脉分支出来的微小血管,形成身体细胞周围的网络。 在肺部,毛细血管从吸入空气中将氧气吸收到血流中,并释放二氧化碳通过呼气呼出。 在身体的其他部位,氧气和其他营养物质从毛细血管中的血液扩散到由它们供血的组织。 毛细血管从组织中吸收二氧化碳和其他废物,然后使脱氧血液流入静脉。

5. 心脏的持续泵动维持了血压和全身的血液供应

单击播放血压测量动画

当血液在循环系统流动时,会对血管壁产生压力。 血压因心脏泵送所产生的血流作用力和血管壁的阻力形成。 当心脏收缩时,它会泵出血液流过动脉。 血液推力作用于血管壁,在这种高压下流动得更快。 当心室松弛时,血管壁朝着减小的作用力相反方向回推。 在这种低压下血流减慢。

Blood Vessel Structure and Function: How the Circulatory Network Helps to Fuel the Entire Body

© 2019 Visible Body

Vein

Veins are vessels of the circulatory system that support circulation by conveying blood to the heart.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W Blood vessels of the human body

Blood flowing through the circulatory system transports nutrients, oxygen, and water to cells throughout the body. The journey might begin and end with the heart, but the blood vessels reach every vital spot along the way. These arteries, veins, and capillaries make for a vast network of pipes. If you were to lay out all the blood vessels of the body in a line, they would stretch for nearly 60,000 miles. That’s enough to circle the earth almost three times!

1. The Three Major Types of Blood Vessels: Arteries, Veins, and Capillaries

The different types of blood vessels and their layers

Blood vessels flow blood throughout the body. Arteries transport blood away from the heart. Veins return blood back toward the heart. Capillaries surround body cells and tissues to deliver and absorb oxygen, nutrients, and other substances. The capillaries also connect the branches of arteries and to the branches of veins. The walls of most blood vessels have three distinct layers: the tunica externa, the tunica media, and the tunica intima. These layers surround the lumen, the hollow interior through which blood flows.

2. Oxygenated Blood Flows Away from the Heart Through Arteries

The major arteries and branches of the body

The left ventricle of the heart pumps oxygenated blood into the aorta. From there, blood passes through major arteries, which branch into muscular arteries and then microscopic arterioles. The arterioles branch into the capillary networks that supply tissues with oxygen and nutrients. The walls of arteries are thicker than the walls of veins, with more smooth muscle and elastic tissue. This structure allows arteries to dilate as blood pumps through them.

3. Veins Carry Blood Back Toward the Heart

The superior and inferior vena cava

After the capillaries release oxygen and other substances from blood into body tissues, they feed the blood back toward the veins. First the blood enters microscopic vein branches called venules. The venules conduct the blood into the veins, which transport it back to the heart through the venae cavae. Vein walls are thinner and less elastic than artery walls. The pressure pushing blood through them is not as great. In fact, there are valves within the lumen of veins to prevent the backflow of blood.

4. Exchange of Gases, Nutrients, and Waste Between Blood and Tissue Occurs in the Capillaries

Click to play an animation of blood flow through capillaries

Capillaries are tiny vessels that branch out from arterioles to form networks around body cells. In the lungs, capillaries absorb oxygen from inhaled air into the bloodstream and release carbon dioxide for exhalation. Elsewhere in the body, oxygen and other nutrients diffuse from blood in the capillaries to the tissues they supply. The capillaries absorb carbon dioxide and other waste products from the tissues and then flow the deoxygenated blood into the veins.

5. The Constant Pumping of the Heart Maintains Blood Pressure and Supply Throughout the Body

Click to play an animation of blood pressure measurement

The blood moving through the circulatory system puts pressure on the walls of the blood vessels. Blood pressure results from the blood flow force generated by the pumping heart and the resistance of the blood vessel walls. When the heart contracts, it pumps blood out through the arteries. The blood pushes against the vessel walls and flows faster under this high pressure. When the ventricles relax, the vessel walls push back against the decreased force. Blood flow slows down under this low pressure.

External Sources

Carrington College’s blog about blood pressure.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.