视觉、听觉、嗅觉、味觉和触觉:人体如何接收感觉信息

© 2019 Visible Body

舌头

舌头的四块内在肌协同工作,使舌头具有很大的灵活性。

iTunesGoogle Play

五感示意图

神经系统必须接收和处理外界信息以作出反应、进行通信并确保身体的健康与安全。这些信息大部分来自感觉器官:眼睛、耳朵、鼻子、舌头和皮肤。这些器官中的专门细胞和组织会接收原始刺激,并将其转化为神经系统可以使用的信号。神经将信号传递到大脑,大脑将其解释为影像(视觉)、声音(听觉)、气味(嗅觉)、味道(味觉)和触感(触觉)。

1.眼睛将光线转化为供大脑处理的图像信号

眼睛横截面示意图

眼睛位于头骨的眼眶中,受到骨骼和脂肪的保护。眼睛的白色部分是巩膜。它保护内部结构,包围着角膜、虹膜和瞳孔形成的圆形入口。角膜是透明的,允许光线进入眼睛,并发生弯曲来引导光线进入其后的瞳孔。瞳孔实际上是虹膜有色圆盘中的开孔。虹膜扩张或收缩,调节有多少光线通过瞳孔并进入晶状体。接下来,弯曲的晶状体将图像会在视网膜(眼的内层)上聚焦。视网膜是一层精细的神经组织膜,包含了感光细胞。这些视杆细胞和视锥细胞将光转化为神经信号。视神经将信号从眼睛传递到脑部,由脑将其解释为视觉图像。

2. 耳朵使用听小骨和液体将声波转换为声音信号

单击查看描述听觉如何进行的动画描述

音乐、笑声、汽车鸣笛—都作为空气中的声波传入耳朵。外耳将声波沿着耳道(外耳道)汇聚到鼓膜(“耳鼓”)。声波敲击鼓膜,在膜中产生机械振动。鼓膜将这些振动传递到三块被称为听小骨的微小骨骼,可在充满空气的中耳腔室内看到它们。这些骨骼(锤骨、砧骨和镫骨)承载振动并敲击内耳的开口。内耳由充满液体的管道组成,包括螺旋形的耳蜗。随着听小骨的撞击,耳蜗中的特殊毛细胞会检测到液体中的压力波。它们激活神经感受器,通过蜗神经向脑发送信号,后者将信号解释为声音。

3. 皮肤中的特殊感受器向大脑发送触觉信号

显示出触觉感受器的皮肤截面图

皮肤由三个主要组织层构成:外层表皮、中层真皮和内层皮下组织。这些组织层中专门的感受器细胞检测触觉,并通过周围神经向脑部传递信号。不同类型感受器的存在和位置使特定身体部位更加敏感。嘴唇、手和外生殖器官下表皮可见Merkel细胞。迈斯纳小体可见于无毛发皮肤的上真皮层内—指甲、乳头、嘴唇、足底、阴蒂、龟头和舌尖。这两种感受器都可以检测到触摸、压力和振动。其他触觉感受器还包括环层小体,它也能记录压力和振动。还有能感受到疼痛、瘙痒和刺痒的特异性神经自由末梢。

4. 嗅觉:空气中的化学物质刺激发出被大脑解释为气味的信号。

单击查看描述嗅觉如何进行的动画描述

气味的感觉被称为嗅觉。它开始于鼻腔的顶部上皮中的毛状纤毛上的感受器。当我们用鼻子嗅和吸气时,一些空气中的化学物质会与感受器结合。这会触发一个顺着神经纤维向上传递的信号,穿过上皮和上方的颅骨到达嗅球。嗅球包含神经元细胞体,其将信号顺着延伸至嗅球的颅神经传递。然后将信号朝着大脑皮层的嗅觉区域向下传递到嗅神经。

5.味蕾的载体:舌头是味觉的主要器官

舌头和味蕾示意图

舌头上的那些小疙瘩是什么?它们叫做舌乳头。它们中包括轮廓乳头和菌状乳头在内的多数都包含味蕾。当我们进食时,食物中的化学物质会进入舌乳头并到达味蕾。这些化学物质(或促味剂)刺激味蕾内部特殊的味觉细胞,激活神经感受器。感受器将信号发送至面神经、舌咽神经和迷走神经的神经纤维。这些神经将信号传递到延髓,延髓将信号传递到脑部的丘脑和大脑皮层。

Sight, Sound, Smell, Taste, and Touch: How the Human Body Receives Sensory Information

A diagram of the five senses

The nervous system must receive and process information about the world outside in order to react, communicate, and keep the body healthy and safe. Much of this information comes through the sensory organs: the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and skin. Specialized cells and tissues within these organs receive raw stimuli and translate them into signals the nervous system can use. Nerves relay the signals to the brain, which interprets them as sight (vision), sound (hearing), smell (olfaction), taste (gustation), and touch (tactile perception).

1. The Eyes Translate Light into Image Signals for the Brain to Process

A cross-section diagram of the eye

The eyes sit in the orbits of the skull, protected by bone and fat. The white part of the eye is the sclera. It protects interior structures and surrounds a circular portal formed by the cornea, iris, and pupil. The cornea is transparent to allow light to enter the eye, and curved to direct it through the pupil behind it. The pupil is actually an opening in the colored disk of the iris. The iris dilates or constricts, adjusting how much light passes through the pupil and onto the lens. The curved lens then focuses the image onto the retina, the eye’s interior layer. The retina is a delicate membrane of nervous tissue containing photoreceptor cells. These cells, the rods and cones, translate light into nervous signals. The optic nerve carries the signals from the eye to the brain, which interprets them to form visual images.

2. The Ear Uses Bones and Fluid to Transform Sound Waves into Sound Signals

Click for an animated description of how hearing works

Music, laughter, car honks — all reach the ears as sound waves in the air. The outer ear funnels the waves down the ear canal (the external acoustic meatus) to the tympanic membrane (the “ear drum”). The sound waves beat against the tympanic membrane, creating mechanical vibrations in the membrane. The tympanic membrane transfers these vibrations to three small bones, known as auditory ossicles, found in the air-filled cavity of the middle ear. These bones – the malleus, incus, and stapes – carry the vibrations and knock against the opening to the inner ear. The inner ear consists of fluid-filled canals, including the spiral-shaped cochlea. As the ossicles pound away, specialized hair cells in the cochlea detect pressure waves in the fluid. They activate nervous receptors, sending signals through the cochlear nerve toward the brain, which interprets the signals as sounds.

3. Specialized Receptors in the Skin Send Touch Signals to the Brain

A cross-section of the skin showing touch receptors

Skin consists of three major tissue layers: the outer epidermis, middle dermis, and inner hypodermis. Specialized receptor cells within these layers detect tactile sensations and relay signals through peripheral nerves toward the brain. The presence and location of the different types of receptors make certain body parts more sensitive. Merkel cells, for example, are found in the lower epidermis of lips, hands, and external genitalia. Meissner corpuscles are found in the upper dermis of hairless skin — fingertips, nipples, the soles of the feet. Both of these receptors detect touch, pressure, and vibration. Other touch receptors include Pacinian corpuscles, which also register pressure and vibration, and the free endings of specialized nerves that feel pain, itch, and tickle.

4. Olfaction: Chemicals in the Air Stimulate Signals the Brain Interprets as Smells

Click for an animated description of how olfaction works

The sense of smell is called olfaction. It starts with specialized nerve receptors located on hairlike cilia in the epithelium at the top of the nasal cavity. When we sniff or inhale through the nose, some chemicals in the air bind to these receptors. That triggers a signal that travels up a nerve fiber, through the epithelium and the skull bone above, to the olfactory bulbs. The olfactory bulbs contain neuron cell bodies that transmit information along the cranial nerves, which are extensions of the olfactory bulbs. They send the signal down the olfactory nerves, toward the olfactory area of the cerebral cortex.

5. Home of the Taste Buds: The Tongue Is the Principal Organ of Gustation

A diagram of the tongue and taste buds

What are all those small bumps on the top of the tongue? They’re called papillae. Many of them, including circumvallate papillae and fungiform papillae, contain taste buds. When we eat, chemicals from food enter the papillae and reach the taste buds. These chemicals (or tastants) stimulate specialized gustatory cells inside the taste buds, activating nervous receptors. The receptors send signals to fibers of the facial, glossopharyngeal, and vagus nerves. Those nerves carry the signals to the medulla oblongata, which relays them to the thalamus and cerebral cortex of the brain.

External Resources

An article in Science Daily on a research study about pupil size and responses to music.

An essay about phantom limb pain in Science Creative Quarterly.

Learn more about the senses with Anatomy & Physiology, an app for your iPad, PC, Mac, Android, or Windows Touch device.