应对和适应疾病: 免疫系统如何保护人体

© 2019 Visible Body

免疫系统

免疫系统是身体抵御感染和疾病的防御系统。

iTunesGoogle Play

淋巴细胞抵御人体内的病原体

免疫是身体抵御感染和疾病的防御系统。 白细胞起着关键的作用。 一些白细胞见到侵入身体的任何有害微生物都会冲上去发起攻击。 其他白细胞则成为专家,适合对抗特定的病原体。 所有白细胞都起到尽可能保持身体健康的作用。

1. 白细胞保护人体抵御疾病

血流中不同类型的白细胞

白细胞,也称为白血球,它们保护人体抵御疾病。 它们通常仅占循环血液体积的1%,但在感染或炎症期间增加。 中性粒细胞是最常见的类型,占所有白细胞的60%至70%。 中性粒细胞是吞噬细胞,也就是吞噬病原体的细胞。 淋巴细胞是第二常见的白细胞类型,通过淋巴系统的器官和组织输送到全身各处。 淋巴细胞瞄准特定的病原体,以此作为免疫反应的一部分。 其他白细胞包括嗜酸性粒细胞,嗜碱性粒细胞和单核细胞。

© 2019 Visible Body

白细胞

白细胞保护身体免受疾病侵害,数量会在感染或炎症期间增加。

iTunesGoogle Play

2. 吞噬细胞吞噬病原体

动画表示吞食微生物的吞噬细胞

吞噬细胞是包括中性粒细胞在内的一类白细胞。 这些细胞吞食细菌和其他病原体,以保护身体免受感染。 这个过程在来自病原体或受损组织的化学物质吸引吞噬细胞时开始。 吞噬细胞与微生物结合,将其包起,然后吃掉它。 吞噬细胞中的酶杀死并消化病原体。 这种作用被称为吞噬作用。

3. 淋巴细胞是第二常见的白细胞类型

有关不同类型淋巴细胞的详细信息

淋巴细胞是一种在红骨髓中产生的白细胞,在淋巴系统中增殖。 他们可以通过淋巴和循环系统输送。 淋巴细胞包括几种亚型: B细胞产生抗体。 T细胞瞄准病毒或真菌感染的细胞、癌细胞和移植细胞。 自然杀伤(NK)细胞攻击并摧毁外来微生物。 所有这些淋巴细胞都有助于身体的免疫反应。

4. 先天免疫提供对侵入病原体的快速和一般性的防御

对创伤作出反应的被动免疫系统

发生感染后,发热会使体温升高以加速免疫反应。 反应可以相对快速地发生。 在损伤部位周围血管扩张,使这个区域发炎。 血管扩张使得更多白细胞离开血流进入组织中。 然后,吞噬细胞完成吞食入侵微生物的工作。 身体对感染的这种快速反应就是先天免疫的一个例子。

5. 适应性免疫反应是对病原体的一种复杂并且有的放矢的反应。

抗体和细胞介导的免疫是人体用来对抗病原体的适应性措施

活化的B细胞增殖以产生大量克隆,其中大多数成为浆细胞。 浆细胞产生抗体,识别外来微生物上的抗原。 抗体起到标识入侵者标签的作用。 这被称为抗体介导的反应。 吞噬细胞呈递的抗原使T细胞活化和增殖,寻找并摧毁被感染的细胞。 这被称为细胞介导的反应。少数B细胞和T细胞克隆被修饰以定居于淋巴器官,这样,如果病原体卷土重来,它们将来可以快速响应。 通过这种方式,适应性免疫系统会“记住”所涉及的病原体。整个这个过程被称为适应性免疫,其中对特定病原体的反应修饰了特定的B细胞和T细胞。

Reacting and Adapting to Disease: How the Immune System Protects the Body

© 2019 Visible Body

Immune system

The immune system is the body's defense system against infection and disease.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W Lymphocytes defend against pathogens in the human body

Immunity is the body’s defense system against infection and disease. White blood cells play a key role. Some rush to attack any harmful microbes that invade the body. Other white blood cells become specialists, adapted to fight particular pathogens. All of them work to keep the body as healthy as possible.

1. White Blood Cells Defend the Body Against Disease

The different types of white blood cells in the blood stream

White blood cells, also called leukocytes, defend the body against disease. They normally account for only 1% of circulating blood volume but increase during infection or inflammation. Neutrophils are the most common type, comprising 60% to 70% of all white blood cells. Neutrophils are phagocytes, cells that consume invading pathogens. Lymphocytes, the second most common type of white blood cell, disseminate through the organs and tissues of the lymphatic system. Lymphocytes target specific pathogens as part of the immune response. Other white blood cells include eosinophils, basophils, and monocytes.

© 2019 Visible Body

White blood cell

White blood cells defend the body against disease, and increase in number during infection or inflammation.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W

2. Phagocytes Devour Pathogens

Animation a phagocyte consuming a microbe

Phagocytes are a group of white blood cells that includes neutrophils. These cells consume bacteria and other pathogens to protect the body from infection. The process begins when chemicals from a pathogen, or damaged tissue, attract a phagocyte. The phagocyte binds to the microbe, envelopes it, and then eats it. Enzymes within the phagocyte kill and digest the pathogen. This action is called phagocytosis.

3. Lymphocytes Are the Second Most Common Type of White Blood Cell

Details on the different types of lymphocytes

Lymphocytes are a type of white blood cell produced in red bone marrow that multiplies in the lymphatic system. They can travel through the lymphatic and circulatory systems. Lymphocytes include several sub-types: B cells produce antibodies. T cells target virus or fungal-infected cells, cancer cells, and transplanted cells. Natural killer (NK) cells attack and destroy foreign microbes. All of these lymphocyte cells contribute to the body’s immune response.

4. Innate Immunity Provides a Fast and General Defense Against Invading Pathogens

The passive immune system responding to trauma

When an infection occurs, fever elevates body temperature to accelerate the immune response. The reaction can happen relatively quickly. Blood vessels dilate around the injury site, inflaming the area. The vessel dilation allows more white blood cells to leave the bloodstream and enter the infected tissues. Phagocytes then do the job of consuming invading microbes. This rapid response by the body to an infection is an example of innate immunity.

5. Adaptive Immunity Is a Complex and Targeted Response to Pathogens

Antibody and cell mediated immunity are adaptive measures the body uses to fight pathogens

Activated B cells multiply to produce large numbers of clones, most of which become plasma cells. Plasma cells produce antibodies that recognize antigens on foreign microbes. The antibodies act as tags to identify the invaders. This is called an antibody-mediated response. T cells, activated by antigens presented by phagocytes, multiply then seek out and destroy infected cells. This is called a cell-mediated response. A few of the B cell and T cell clones are modified to populate lymph organs so that they can respond quickly in the future if the pathogen returns. In this way, the adaptive immune system "remembers" the pathogen involved. The entire process, in which the response to particular pathogens modifies certain B cells and T cells, is called adaptive immunity.