消化的解剖和生理学: 解释身体如何吸收营养的10个事实

© 2019 Visible Body

小肠

小肠在化学消化和对水的吸收中起着至关重要的作用。

iTunesGoogle Play

下消化系统的结构

消化系统是一种人体内的加工厂。 它接收食物并将其推动经过作为加工过程场所的器官和结构。 我们需要的燃料和营养物被提取出来,消化系统会丢弃剩下的部分。

继续阅读有关消化系统的10个重要事实。

1. 消化分解食物,为身体提供能量

消化系统概述

消化系统包括形成消化道的结构和消化的附属器官。 消化将食物和液体中的大分子化合物分解成可以被吸收到血液中的小分子。 吸收的营养物质包括碳水化合物、蛋白质、脂肪、矿物质和维生素。 它们先经过加工,然后在全身输送,用于能量、生长和细胞修复。

2. 消化是一个分为6步的过程

体内的摄入、消化、吸收以及排泄

消化系统的六个主要活动是摄入、推进,机械分解、化学消化、吸收和排泄。 首先,食物被摄入、咀嚼和吞咽。 接下来,肌肉收缩推动其通过消化道,并将其物理分解成小块。 消化液将化学物质中的营养物质分解成足够小的分子以便吸收。 最后,将难消化的物质作为废物排泄。

3. 消化道的结构摄取食物并推动它经过在人体内的旅程

消化道的结构

消化道是单一的连续管道,包括口腔、咽、食管、胃和肠。 它也被称为胃肠道(GI),形成消化的物理通路。 食物进入口腔,被推下食管,进入胃部,并通过肠道。 这些结构逐渐将食物分解成足够小的分子以便吸收,并将剩余的物质作为废物排出。

4. 胃壁层有助于其的搅拌、扩张和收缩

胃的4个平滑肌层

胃部被分为四个区域: 贲门、胃底、胃体或幽门。 它有三个肌层。 纵肌层和环肌层可见于整个消化道,它们通过蠕动收缩来推动食物。 胃中的第三层是斜肌层,其搅动食物,使其分解。 当所有三个胃壁层都在运动时,两个开口(括约肌)关闭,将食物保持在胃中。 胃壁还包括皱褶,它们必要时让胃在食物进入时扩大。

5. 自主神经系统在消化中起到了关键作用

单击查看蠕动的动画描述

骨骼肌如何运动? 躯体信号从大脑皮层发送到与特定骨骼肌相关的神经。 大多数信号通过脊神经传导,它与支配全身骨骼肌的神经相连。 想使肘关节屈曲? 您的大脑皮层通过脊神经向支配肘关节周围肌肉的神经发送信号。 当该信号到达肌肉组织时,细胞被重新组织,产生了使肘关节弯曲的收缩!

6. 咽是一个多面手

咽的结构: 鼻咽、口咽和喉咽

咽起着双重作用。 它是进入呼吸系统的空气与进入消化系统的食物和液体的公用通道。 当食物被咀嚼成食团并被吞咽时,会从口腔移动到口咽部,然后向下移动到喉咽部。 喉咽是上呼吸道和上消化道岔开的交叉路口。 咽喉的后部与食管相连,以延续消化道。

7. 小肠有三个区域

小肠的三段,十二指肠、空肠和回肠

小肠有三个区域: 十二指肠、空肠和回肠。 十二指肠是小肠的最上部,长度仅为10-15英寸。 在消化过程中,它接收来自胃的食糜和来自肝脏和胰腺的胆汁、酶以及其他消化液。 空肠是小肠的中段(长约2.5米,宽约4厘米)。 回肠是下段,也是三段中最长的一段(约3.5米长)。 被称为绒毛的手指状的突起排列在小肠内壁。 绒毛吸收消化液分解的大部分营养物质。

8. 十二指肠是消化液的容器

十二指肠周边

来自胰腺、胆囊和肝脏的胰液、胆汁和其他消化液进入十二指肠。 十二指肠是小肠的最上部,因此它接收来自胃的食糜。 这是大部分化学消化发生的地方,也是重要营养素、维生素和矿物质的吸收开始的地方。

9. 大肠有8个区域

大肠的主要分段

大肠区域是阑尾、盲肠、升结肠、横结肠、降结肠、乙状结肠、直肠和肛管。 大肠吸收食糜从小肠经过后残留的水、电解质和维生素。 其压缩并暂时储存粪便准备排泄。

10. 消化液通过化学方式分解食物

消化系统分泌的各种液体

食物移动通过消化道时,它通过消化系统的各种器官分泌的消化液化学分解。 唾液腺分泌唾液,在口腔中开始化学消化。 胃壁中腺体产生的胃液包含将食物消化成食糜。 胆汁含有将脂肪乳化的胆盐。 胰液中含有辅助小肠中消化的酶和离子,以及中和胃酸的缓冲液。 肠壁中的腺体分泌肠酶,进一步分解食糜。

Anatomy & Physiology of Digestion: 10 Facts That Explain How the Body Absorbs Nutrients

Touch

© 2019 Visible Body

Small Intestine

The small intestine plays a vital role in chemical digestion and water absorption.

iTunesGoogle Play

The structures of the lower digestive system

The digestive system is a kind of processing plant inside the body. It takes in food and pushes it through organs and structures where the processing happens. The fuels and nutrients we need are extracted, and the digestive system discards the rest.

Read on for 10 important facts about the digestive system.

1. Digestion Breaks Down Food to Give the Body Energy

Overview of the digestive system

The digestive system includes structures that form the alimentary canal and the accessory organs of digestion. Digestion breaks down large compounds in food and liquids into smaller molecules that can be absorbed into the bloodstream. The absorbed nutrients include carbohydrates, protein, fats, minerals, and vitamins. They are processed, then delivered throughout the body and used for energy, growth, and cell repair.

2. Digestion Is a 6-Step Process

Ingestion, digestion, absorption, and elimination in the body

The six major activities of the digestive system are ingestion, propulsion, mechanical breakdown, chemical digestion, absorption, and elimination. First, food is ingested, chewed, and swallowed. Next, muscular contractions propel it through the alimentary canal and physically break it down into tiny particles. Digestive fluids chemically break down the nutrients from food into molecules small enough for absorption. Finally, indigestible substances are eliminated as waste.

3. Structures of the Alimentary Canal Ingest Food and Propel It on a Journey Through the Body

The structures of the alimentary canal

The alimentary canal is a single continuous tube that includes the oral cavity, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, and intestines. It is also called the digestive tract or the gastrointestinal (GI) tract and forms the physical pathway of digestion. Food enters the mouth and is pushed down the esophagus, into the stomach, and through the intestines. These structures gradually break down food into molecules that are small enough for absorption and expel the remainder as waste.

4. The Layers of the Stomach Wall Help It to Churn, Expand, and Contract

The 4 smooth muscle layers of the stomach

The stomach is divided into four regions: the cardia, fundus, body, and pylorus. It has three muscle layers. The longitudinal and circular layers are found throughout the alimentary canal and move food along using peristaltic contractions. The third, oblique, layer in the stomach churns food to break it down. When all three stomach layers are in motion, the two openings (sphincters) are closed to keep food in the stomach. The stomach wall also includes rugae, which are folds that allow the stomach to expand as food enters.

5. The Autonomic Nervous System Plays a Key Role in Digestion

Click for an animated depiction of peristalsis

The autonomic nervous system controls peristalsis, the contraction and relaxation of muscle layers within the alimentary canal wall. Peristalis is a key function in digestion; it literally gets the ball rolling. These involuntary contractions push swallowed food down the esophagus, churn the stomach, and propel chyme through the small intestine and large intestine.

6. The Pharynx Is a Multitasker

The structures of the pharynx: nasopharynx, oropharynx, and laryngopharynx

The pharynx, or throat, plays a dual role. It is a common passageway for air entering the respiratory system and for food and fluids entering the digestive system. When food is chewed into a bolus and swallowed, it moves from the mouth to the oropharynx and then down to the laryngopharynx. The laryngopharynx is a crossroad where the upper respiratory and upper digestive tracts diverge. The rear of the laryngopharynx merges with the esophagus to continue the digestive tract.

7. The Small Intestine Has Three Regions

The three sections of the small intestine, Duodenum, Jejunum, and Ileum

The small intestine has three regions: the duodenum, the jejunum, and the ileum. The duodenum is the uppermost part of the small intestine and only 10–15 inches long. During digestion it receives chyme from the stomach and bile, enzymes, and other digestive fluids from the liver and the pancreas. The jejunum is the middle portion of the small intestine (about 2.5 m long and 4 cm wide). The ileum is the lower segment and the longest of the three (about 3.5 m long). Finger-like projections called villi line the interior wall throughout the small intestine. The villi absorb most of the nutrients broken down by the digestive fluids.

8. The Duodenum Is a Receptacle for Digestive Fluids

The duodenum in context

Ducts from the pancreas, gall bladder, and liver empty pancreatic juice, bile, and other digestive fluids into the duodenum. The duodenum is the uppermost part of the small intestine, so it receives chyme from the stomach. This is where most chemical digestion occurs and where the absorption of vital nutrients, vitamins, and minerals begins.

9. The Large Intestine Has 8 Regions

The major sections of the large intestine

The regions of the large intestine are the appendix, cecum, ascending colon, transverse colon, descending colon, sigmoid colon, rectum, and anal canal. The large intestine absorbs water, electrolytes, and vitamins that remain after chyme is passed from the small intestine. It compacts and temporarily stores feces for defecation.

10. Digestive Juices Chemically Break Down Food

Various fluids secreted by the digestive system

As food moves through the digestive tract, it is broken down chemically by a variety of digestive juices secreted by organs of the digestive system. Salivary glands secrete saliva that begins chemical digestion in the oral cavity. Gastric juice produced by glands in the stomach lining digest food into chyme. Bile contains bile salts that emulsify fats. Pancreatic juice contains enzymes and ions that aid digestion in the small intestine and buffers that neutralize stomach acids. Glands in the intestinal wall secrete intestinal enzymes that further break down chyme.

External Sources

A description of the organs of digestion from the 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body.

Watch a stop-motion video of digestion from the mouth down to the small intestine from a TEDxManhattan fellow via Scientific American.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.