人脑:解剖结构和功能

© 2019 Visible Body

大脑

旋转此三维模型,查看大脑的四个主要区域: 大脑、间脑、小脑和脑干。

iTunesGoogle Play

脑部区域示意图

脑控制着我们身体的内部功能。它还整合了感觉冲动和信息,以形成感知、思想和记忆。脑给了我们自我意识和在这个世界中的言语和运动的能力。有四个主要区域让这一切成为可能:大脑及大脑皮层让我们能有意识地控制我们的行为。间脑协调感觉、管理情绪并控制整个内部系统。小脑调节身体运动、言语协调和平衡,脑干则传递来自脊髓的信号并引导基本内部功能和反射。

1.意识的宝座:大脑中出现的高等智力功能

大脑分区示意图

大脑是最大的脑结构和前脑的一部分。它向外突出的部分即大脑皮层,这里不仅处理感觉和运动信息,还使意识和我们思考自己和外部世界的能力成为可能。这就是大多数人听到术语“灰质”时的想法。大脑皮层组织主要包含神经元细胞体,其褶皱和裂隙(称作沟与回)让大脑有了标志性的褶皱表面。大脑皮层分左半球和右半球。每个半球分成四个叶:额叶、颞叶、枕叶和顶叶。这些叶是功能性的节段。它们分管思想和记忆、计划和决策以及语言和感官认知。

2. 小脑可精细调节身体运动和保持平衡。

小脑分区示意图

小脑是脑部第二大部分。它位于大脑后叶(枕叶)下方,作为后脑的一部分。和大脑一样,小脑也分左右半球。中央区域(小脑蚓)将它们相连。在内部组织内显示有一个中央白色脑干,它被称为小脑活树,它的分支和小分支遍布整个半球。小脑的主要功能是保持姿势和平衡。我们在跳向一边,向前走或忽然转弯时,它会下意识地评估每个动作。然后小脑向大脑发出信号,指示将会调整我们的姿势来保持平稳的肌肉活动。

© 2019 Visible Body

小脑

旋转脑的三维模型,可看到小脑小于大脑。

iTunesGoogle Play

3. 脑干中继大脑和脊髓之间的信号,并管理基本非自主功能

脑干分区示意图

脑干将脊髓连接到大脑高级思维的中心。脑干由延髓、脑桥和中脑三个结构构成。延髓是脊髓的延伸,并和上方的脑桥相连。延髓和脑桥还被认为是后脑的一部分。中脑将脑桥和间脑连接到前脑。除传递感觉和运动信号外,脑干的结构还引导非自主功能。脑桥协助控制呼吸节奏。延髓负责呼吸、消化和循环,以及吞咽、咳嗽和打喷嚏一类的反射。中脑有助于运动控制、视觉和听觉,以及与视听相关的反射。

4. 分拣站:丘脑协调感觉数据并中继传向意识大脑的和的信号

丘脑及其在脑中的位置

间脑是前脑的一个区域,同时连接到中脑(脑干的一部分)和大脑。丘脑构成了大部分的间脑。它由两个对称的卵形实质组成,具有通过大脑皮层向外辐射的神经元。感觉数据从脑干涌入丘脑,还有来自脑部不同区域的情感、内脏和其他信息。丘脑将这些信息传递到大脑皮层的适当区域。它确定了哪些信号需要意识感知,哪些应用作学习和记忆。

5. 下丘脑管理感觉冲动,控制情绪并调节内部功能

下丘脑及其在脑中的位置

下丘脑是间脑的一部分,这是前脑的一个连接到中脑和大脑的区域。下丘脑帮助处理嗅觉、味觉和视觉的感觉脉冲。它管理着疼痛和愉悦、攻击性和娱乐性等情感。下丘脑也是我们内脏的控制中心,调节维持机体日常的内分泌系统和内部功能。它将神经信号转化为激活和抑制激素并送往垂体。这些激素能激活或抑制垂体激素的释放,这些垂体激素专门针对身体的特定腺体和组织。同时,下丘脑还管理负责无意识内部功能的自主神经系统。它发出睡眠周期和其他昼夜节律信号,调节摄食并监控和调整身体的化学成分及温度。

The Human Brain: Anatomy and Function

© 2019 Visible Body

Brain

Rotate this 3D model to see the four major regions of the brain: the cerebrum, diencephalon, cerebellum, and brainstem.

iTunesGoogle Play

A diagram of regions of the brain

The brain directs our body’s internal functions. It also integrates sensory impulses and information to form perceptions, thoughts, and memories. The brain gives us self-awareness and the ability to speak and move in the world. Its four major regions make this possible: The cerebrum, with its cerebral cortex, gives us conscious control of our actions. The diencephalon mediates sensations, manages emotions, and commands whole internal systems. The cerebellum adjusts body movements, speech coordination, and balance, while the brain stem relays signals from the spinal cord and directs basic internal functions and reflexes.

1. The Seat of Consciousness: High Intellectual Functions Occur in the Cerebrum

A diagram of the parts of the cerebrum

The cerebrum is the largest brain structure and part of the forebrain (or prosencephalon). Its prominent outer portion, the cerebral cortex, not only processes sensory and motor information but enables consciousness, our ability to consider ourselves and the outside world. It is what most people think of when they hear the term “grey matter.” The cortex tissue consists mainly of neuron cell bodies, and its folds and fissures (known as gyri and sulci) give the cerebrum its trademark rumpled surface. The cerebral cortex has a left and a right hemisphere. Each hemisphere can be divided into four lobes: the frontal lobe, temporal lobe, occipital lobe, and parietal lobe. The lobes are functional segments. They specialize in various areas of thought and memory, of planning and decision making, and of speech and sense perception.

2. The Cerebellum Fine-Tunes Body Movements and Maintains Balance

A diagram of the parts of the cerebellum

The cerebellum is the second largest part of the brain. It sits below the posterior (occipital) lobes of the cerebrum and behind the brain stem, as part of the hindbrain. Like the cerebrum, the cerebellum has left and right hemispheres. A middle region, the vermis, connects them. Within the interior tissue rises a central white stem, called the arbor vitae because it spreads branches and sub-branches through the hemispheres. The primary function of the cerebellum is to maintain posture and balance. When we jump to the side, reach forward, or turn suddenly, it subconsciously evaluates each movement. The cerebellum then sends signals to the cerebrum, indicating muscle movements that will adjust our position to keep us steady.

© 2019 Visible Body

Cerebellum

Rotate this 3D model of the brain to see that the cerebellum is smaller than the cerebrum.

iTunesGoogle Play

3. The Brain Stem Relays Signals Between the Brain and Spinal Cord and Manages Basic Involuntary Functions

A diagram of the parts of the brain stem

The brain stem connects the spinal cord to the higher-thinking centers of the brain. It consists of three structures: the medulla oblongata, the pons, and the midbrain. The medulla oblongata is continuous with the spinal cord and connects to the pons above. Both the medulla and the pons are considered part of the hindbrain. The midbrain, or mesencephalon, connects the pons to the diencephalon and forebrain. Besides relaying sensory and motor signals, the structures of the brain stem direct involuntary functions. The pons helps control breathing rhythms. The medulla handles respiration, digestion, and circulation, and reflexes such as swallowing, coughing, and sneezing. The midbrain contributes to motor control, vision, and hearing, as well as vision- and hearing-related reflexes.

4. A Sorting Station: The Thalamus Mediates Sensory Data and Relays Signals to the Conscious Brain

The thalamus and its position in the brain

The diencephalon is a region of the forebrain, connected to both the midbrain (part of the brain stem) and the cerebrum. The thalamus forms most of the diencephalon. It consists of two symmetrical egg-shaped masses, with neurons that radiate out through the cerebral cortex. Sensory data floods into the thalamus from the brain stem, along with emotional, visceral, and other information from different areas of the brain. The thalamus relays these messages to the appropriate areas of the cerebral cortex. It determines which signals require conscious awareness, and which should be available for learning and memory.

5. The Hypothalamus Manages Sensory Impulses, Controls Emotions, and Regulates Internal Functions

The hypothalamus and its position in the brain

The hypothalamus is part of the diencephalon, a region of the forebrain that connects to the midbrain and the cerebrum. The hypothalamus helps to process sensory impulses of smell, taste, and vision. It manages emotions such as pain and pleasure, aggression and amusement. The hypothalamus is also our visceral control center, regulating the endocrine system and internal functions that sustain the body day to day. It translates nervous system signals into activating or inhibiting hormones that it sends to the pituitary gland. These hormones can activate or inhibit the release of pituitary hormones that target specific glands and tissues in the body. Meanwhile, the hypothalamus manages the autonomic nervous system, devoted to involuntary internal functions. It signals sleep cycles and other circadian rhythms, regulates food consumption, and monitors and adjusts body chemistry and temperature.

External Sources

An article in Science Daily on a research study about REM sleep and the pons, a part of the brain stem.

An article on the anatomy of the brain in the University of Chicago School of Medicine Online Library.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.