化学信使:内分泌系统使用激素控制人体功能

有关激素如何发挥作用的描述

激素能调节从代谢和生长到性发育及诱导分娩的内部功能。它们通过血流循环,与靶细胞结合并调节整个组织和器官的功能。这一切都始于下丘脑和垂体,它们是内分泌系统的掌控者。它们释放的激素控制着其他内分泌腺的分泌和大多数内分泌功能。遍布全身的激素能对应激和其他外部环境变化做出反应,并保持正常身体过程平稳进行。

1. 循环:激素如何到达和瞄准特定细胞

一段有关血流中的激素及其如何与细胞结合的描述

内分泌腺将激素直接分泌到血流中。激素在血浆中溶解,并通过流经各种人体组织的循环路径输送。那么,为什么激素只影响特定组织中的靶细胞?因为只有这些靶细胞才具有该特定激素的受体。一些激素与靶细胞表面的受体结合。其他激素进入细胞,与细胞质或细胞核中的受体结合。结合触发一系列改变细胞生理活动的作用。通过这种方式,激素可以调节整个器官的功能,并整体调节代谢和生长等人体过程。

2. 自上而下:下丘脑向垂体送出激素来控制内分泌系统

垂体中垂体门脉系统示意图,包括垂体静脉和垂体上下动脉

下丘脑和垂体(也被称为脑垂体)是脑部间脑区域的一部分。下丘脑接收神经信号、处理它们并分泌激素。这些激素进入垂体门脉系统,这是一个将下丘脑连接到垂体的毛细血管网络。发自前垂体上动脉的毛细血管包围着垂体并收集下丘脑激素,这些激素通过门脉系统被带到垂体前叶,在这里刺激或抑制垂体激素的释放。发自下丘脑的轴突进入垂体后叶,它们在这里释放两种激素:缩宫素(OXT)和抗利尿激素(ADH或加压素),进行储存和以后的后释放。下丘脑和垂体产生的激素控制其他内分泌腺和所有主要内部功能。

3. 垂体前叶激素刺激生长并控制全身的腺体

© 2019 Visible Body

垂体

脑垂体分泌和储存激素,激素管理着内分泌系统的功能。

iTunesGoogle Play

垂体和垂体前叶激素示意图

从下丘脑送往垂体前叶的激素起到信号的作用。它们刺激或抑制垂体前叶激素的释放,这种激素调节内分泌腺体并控制多种身体功能。人生长激素(hGH)输送到骨骼肌、骨骼和肝脏,促进全身的生长和发育。促甲状腺激素(TSH)和促肾上腺皮质激素(ACTH)靶向甲状腺和肾上腺,这是两种主要的内分泌腺,用于调节代谢,以完成体温调节、生长和应激应对。促卵泡激素(FSH)和促黄体生成素(LH)刺激性腺中的性细胞产生和生殖过程,而催乳素(PRL)诱导乳腺泌乳。

4. 垂体后叶激素调节水的水平和诱导分娩

垂体和垂体后叶激素示意图

下丘脑分泌的大多数激素会输送到垂体前叶,它们在这里刺激或抑制其他激素的释放。但有抗利尿激素(ADH或加压素)和缩宫素(OXT)这两种激素被下丘脑的轴突延伸分泌到垂体后叶。垂体后叶储存ADH和OXT,并在需要时将其直接释放到血液中。ADH作用于肾脏、血管和汗腺的表皮细胞,以减少整个机体的水分流失。OXT会影响怀孕和哺乳。它引起子宫平滑肌收缩以诱导分娩。它随后会刺激乳腺泌乳,并促进母子之间的结合。

5.激素为身体对新刺激和压力的反应提供燃料

涉及短期和长期应激反应的激素图示,展示了下丘脑、垂体和肾上腺

激素控制正在进行中的内部机能。它们还使我们的身体对环境变化做出反应—例如,当我们感知到突发威胁或发现我们自己处于压力之下时。在此情形下,下丘脑直接命令肾上腺(通过神经信号)增加肾上腺素和降肾上腺素的产生。这些激素促进“战斗-逃跑”反应:呼吸和心跳加快,同时我们的肌肉获得能量爆发。如果这种情况继续下去,内分泌系统将进入“抵抗阶段”:下丘脑引导垂体释放促肾上腺皮质激素(ACTH)。ACTH刺激肾上腺释放盐皮质激素类和糖皮质激素类,而胰腺分泌胰高血糖素。这些激素为持续的压力,提高血糖水平并维持血流量和能量水平的抬高。

Chemical Messengers: The Endocrine System Uses Hormones to Control Body Functions

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W
A description of how hormones work

Hormones regulate internal functions from metabolism and growth to sexual development and the induction of birth. They circulate through the bloodstream, bind to target cells, and adjust the function of whole tissues and organs. It all starts with the hypothalamus and the pituitary gland, the masters of the endocrine system. The hormones they release control the secretions of the other endocrine glands and most endocrine functions. Throughout the body, hormones enable reactions to stress and other outside changes and keep regular processes running smoothly.

1. Circulation: How Hormones Reach and Target Particular Cells

A description of hormones in the bloodstream and how they bind to cells

Endocrine glands secrete hormones directly into the bloodstream. The hormones dissolve in plasma and travel the circulatory pathways through various body tissues. So why do hormones affect only their target cells in particular tissues? Because only those target cells have receptors for that particular hormone. Some hormones bind to receptors on the surface of target cells. Others enter the cells and bind to receptors in the cytoplasm or nucleus. The binding triggers a series of actions that change the physiologic behavior of the cell. In this way hormones can adjust the functions of whole organs and regulate total body processes such as metabolism and growth.

2. Directing from the Top: The Hypothalamus Sends Hormones to the Pituitary Gland to Control the Endocrine System

A diagram of the hypophyseal portal system in the pituitary gland, including hypophyseal veins and the superior and inferior hypophyseal artery

The hypothalamus and the pituitary gland (which is also called the hypophysis) are part of the diencephalon region of the brain. The hypothalamus receives nervous signals, processes them, and secretes hormones. These hormones enter the hypophyseal portal system, a network of capillaries that connect the hypothalamus to the pituitary. Capillaries from the superior hypophyseal artery surround the hypophysis and collect hypothalamic hormones that are carried to the anterior lobe of the pituitary via the portal system, where they stimulate or inhibit the release of pituitary hormones. Axons from the hypothalamus reach into the posterior pituitary where they release two hormones, oxytocin (OXT) and antidiuretic hormone (ADH or vasopressin), for storage and later release. The hormones generated by the hypothalamus and the pituitary control other endocrine glands and all major internal functions.

3. Anterior Pituitary Hormones Stimulate Growth and Control Glands throughout the Body

© 2019 Visible Body

Pituitary gland

The pituitary gland secretes and stores hormones that manage functions of the endocrine system.

iTunesGoogle Play

1-Five-Types-Of-Bones-1232W A diagram of the pituitary gland and the anterior pituitary hormones

Hormones sent from the hypothalamus to the anterior lobe of the pituitary gland function as signals. They stimulate or inhibit the release of anterior pituitary hormones, which regulate endocrine glands and control a range of body functions. Human growth hormone (hGH) travels to skeletal muscles, bones, and the liver to promote overall growth and development. Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) and adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH) target the thyroid and adrenal glands, two primary endocrine glands that regulate metabolism for temperature regulation, growth, and stress resistance. Follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) and luteinizing hormone (LH) stimulate sex cell production and reproductive processes in the gonads, and prolactin (PRL) induces milk production in mammary glands.

4. Posterior Pituitary Hormones Regulate Water Levels and Induce Labor

A diagram of the pituitary gland and the posterior pituitary hormones

Most hormones secreted by the hypothalamus travel to the anterior lobe of the pituitary, where they stimulate or inhibit the release of other hormones. But two, antidiuretic hormone (ADH or vasopressin) and oxytocin (OXT), are secreted into the posterior pituitary lobe by axonal extensions from the hypothalamus. The posterior pituitary stores ADH and OXT and releases them directly into the bloodstream when needed. ADH acts on the kidneys, blood vessels, and sweat glands in the skin to reduce water loss throughout the body. OXT factors into pregnancy and nurturing. It causes smooth muscle contractions of the uterus to induce birth. Later it stimulates milk ejection from the mammary glands and promotes bonding between mother and child.

5. Hormones Fuel the Body’s Response to New Stimuli and Stress

A diagram of the hormones involved in short-term and long-term stress response, showing the hypothalamus, pituitary, and adrenal glands

Hormones control ongoing internal functions. They also enable our body’s reactions to changes in the environment — for example, when we perceive a sudden threat or find ourselves under stress. In this case, the hypothalamus commands the adrenal glands directly (via nervous signals) to ramp up production of epinephrine and norepinephrine. These hormones promote the “fight-or-flight” response: breathing and heart rate increase and our muscles get a burst of energy. If the situation continues, the endocrine system kicks into the “resistance phase”: The hypothalamus directs the pituitary to release adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH). The ACTH stimulates the adrenal glands to release mineralocorticoids and glucocorticoids, and the pancreas secretes glucagon. These hormones increase blood sugar and sustain elevated blood flow and energy levels for prolonged stress.

External Sources

A Science Daily article on a study about oxytocin.

An essay in Science Creative Quarterly about the neurochemical and hormonal aspects of falling in love.

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.