滤过血液,排出尿液:泌尿系统的结构如何发挥作用

男女泌尿系统对比

肾脏、输尿管、膀胱和尿道是泌尿系统的主要结构。它们滤过血液并以尿液形式从体内清除废物。下泌尿结构的大小和位置随因男女解剖结构的不同而不同。

1. 肾脏在泌尿系统的顶部滤过血液

肾脏和输尿管在腹部与肝脏的相对位置

肾脏是位于腹壁背部的蚕豆形器官,位于腹膜之后。右肾的位置比左肾略低,以便为肝脏留出位置。肾脏滤过血液(由肾动脉提供)以去除不需要的物质。它们还将废物排泌至尿液。

2. 输尿管将尿液从肾脏转移到膀胱

从肾脏走行至膀胱的输尿管

尿液从每个肾脏的肾盂排入输尿管。输尿管是由平滑肌构成的细长管腔。平滑肌的收缩使尿液通过输尿管向下进入膀胱。成人的输尿管长约25–30厘米,长度约和12英寸直尺相当。

3. 膀胱是尿液的储存库

显示逼尿肌、皱褶、膀胱结构的展开视图。

尿液通过输尿管进入膀胱。女性膀胱位于阴道前方和子宫下方。男性膀胱位于直肠前方和前列腺上方。膀胱包含被称为襞的皱褶和一层被称为逼尿肌的平滑肌。当尿液充满膀胱时,膀胱襞会变平以容纳容量。逼尿肌舒张以容纳尿液,然后收缩排尿。成人的膀胱充满时约有半升尿液,或者大约有两茶杯的量。

4. 女性尿道比男性尿道短

女性尿道和周围组织的特写

肾脏产生的尿液流过输尿管(左右),收集于膀胱内,并通过尿道排出。女性尿道狭窄且长约4厘米,比男性短得多。尿道从膀胱颈延伸到阴道前庭中的尿道外口。

5. 男性尿道分成三个部分

Touch

© 2019 Visible Body

尿道

旋转三维模型,查看男性尿道,其长度是女性尿道的四到五倍。

iTunesGoogle Play

男性尿道的横截面及其三个部分

男性尿道长约17.5–20厘米,是女性的四到五倍。男性尿道分成三个部分:尿道前列腺部(最宽的部位)、尿道膜部(最窄的部位)和尿道海绵体部(最长的部位)。它从膀胱颈穿过前列腺和阴茎,延伸到尿道外口。男性的尿液和精液均通过尿道排出体外。

Filtering Blood, Removing Urine: How the Structures of the Urinary System Work

A comparison of the male and female urinary system

The kidneys, ureters, bladder, and urethra are the primary structures of the urinary system. They filter blood and remove waste from the body in the form of urine. The size and position of lower urinary structures vary with male and female anatomy.

1. Kidneys Filter Blood at the Top of the Urinary System

Kidney and ureters in relation to the liver in the abdomen

The kidneys are bean-shaped organs situated on the back of the abdominal wall, behind the peritoneum. The right kidney sits slightly lower than the left to accommodate the liver. The kidneys filter blood (supplied by the renal arteries) to remove unwanted substances. They also secrete waste into the urine.

2. The Ureters Move Urine from the Kidneys to the Bladder

The ureter as it leads from the kidneys to the urinary bladder

Urine drains from the renal pelvis of each kidney into the ureters. The ureters are long, thin tubes made of smooth muscle. Contractions of the smooth muscle push urine down through the ureters and into the bladder. In adults, the ureters are 25–30 cm long, about the length of a 12-inch ruler.

3. The Urinary Bladder Is a Reservoir for Urine

An expanded view showing the detrusor muscle and rugae, structures of the bladder.

Urine flows through the ureters into the urinary bladder. In women, the bladder is located in front of the vagina and below the uterus. In men, the bladder sits in front of the rectum and above the prostate gland. The wall of the bladder contains folds called rugae, and a layer of smooth muscle called the detrusor muscle. As urine fills the bladder, the rugae smooth out to accommodate the volume. The detrusor relaxes to hold the urine, then contracts for urination. An adult bladder is full at about half a liter, or about two cups.

4. The Female Urethra Is Shorter Than the Male Urethra

A closeup of the female urethra and surrounding tissue

Urine produced in the kidneys passes through the ureters, collects in the bladder, and is then excreted through the urethra. In females, the urethra is narrow and about 4 cm long, significantly shorter than in males. It extends from the bladder neck to the external urethral orifice in the vestibule of the vagina.

5. The Male Urethra Is Divided into Three Sections

Touch

© 2019 Visible Body

Urethra

Rotate the 3D model to view the male urethra, which is four or five times as long as the female urethra.

iTunesGoogle Play

Cross section of the male urethra and its three sections

In males, the urethra is about 17.5–20 cm, four or five times as long as in females. The male urethra is divided into three sections: the prostatic urethra (the widest portion), the membranous urethra (the narrowest portion), and the spongy urethra (the longest portion). It extends from the bladder neck through the prostate and the penis to the external urethral orifice. In men, both urine and semen pass out of the body through the urethra.

External Sources

A description of the organs of the urinary system from the 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body.

A cadaver image of the bladder from Stony Brook University School of Medicine. The Body Online

Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body provides in-depth coverage of each body system in a guided, visually stunning presentation.